Joint and Related Inflammatory Diseases TRC

The Joint and Related Inflammatory Diseases TRC brings together world-class investigators in 27 of the UK's leading academic and NHS research centres to support collaboration with the life sciences industry. The TRC works with individual biopharmaceutical, device and diagnostic companies to drive research in the early and exploratory development of new treatments for diseases of the joint and other inflammatory conditions.

The TRC has expertise in a range of inflammatory conditions including:

  • Osteoarthritis
  • Rheumatoid Arthritis
  • Synovitis
  • Inflammatory skin disease
  • Psoriatic Arthritis
  • Psoriasis
  • Systemic lupus erythematosus (SLE)
  • Juvenile idiopathic arthritis
  • Juvenile myositis
  • Myositis
  • Vasculitis
  • Scleroderma
  • Sjögren's syndrome
  • Chronic pain syndromes
  • Ankylosing spondylitis
  • Behcet's syndrome
  • Bone and cardiovascular comorbidity in inflammatory arthritis
  • Inflammatory bowel disease
  • Ulcerative colitis
  • Crohn's disease

The twelve centres that make up the Joint and Related Inflammatory Diseases TRC are led by internationally recognised investigators in joint and related inflammatory research:

Lead academic


Professor David Isenberg University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust; Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust; University College London
Professor Peter C Taylor Oxford University Hospitals NHS Trust; University of Oxford
Professor John Isaacs The Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust; Newcastle University
Professor Costantino Pitzalis Barts Health NHS Trust; Queen Mary University of London
Professor Ian Bruce  Manchester Academic Health Science Centre
Professor Chris Buckley The University of Birmingham; Birmingham/Sandwell/Dudley Hospitals
Dr Natasha Jordan Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust; University of Cambridge
Dr Matthew Pickering Imperial College London; Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust 
Professor Andrew Cope  King's Health Partners Academic Health Science Centre 
Professor David Walsh Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust; University of Nottingham
Professor Maya Buch University of Leeds; Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust
Professor Chris Edwards University of Southampton; University Hospital Southampton NHS Foundation Trust