NIHR Leadership

Leads for the NIHR

Professor Chris Whitty CB FMedSci, Chief Scientific Adviser, Department of Health

Dr Louise Wood, Director, Science, Research and Evidence Directorate, Department of Health

Department of Health -  Science, Research and Evidence Directorate

Setting policy for the NIHR:

Dr Tony Soteriou, Deputy Director - Head of NHS Research Infrastructure and Growth

Mike Batley, Deputy Director - Policy Research, Evidence and NIHR Research Programmes

Dr Mark Toal, Deputy Director - Research Contracting, Information Intelligence and Stakeholder Engagement

Dr Mark Bale, Deputy Director, Science,Genomics and Emerging Therapies

Dean for the Faculty

Dean for NIHR Faculty Trainees, Professor Dave Jones

INVOLVE Patients and the Public: Chair and Director

Simon Denegri, NIHR’s National Director for Patients and the Public and Chair of INVOLVE

Zoe Gray, Director for INVOLVE Coordinating Centre

Dementia research

Professor Martin Rossor, NIHR National Director for Dementia Research

Nutrition research

Professor Alan Jackson, NIHR National Director for Nutrition Research

Coordinating Centre Directors

Dr David King, Director for the NIHR Central Commissioning Facility (CCF)

Lynn Kerridge, Director for the NIHR Evaluation, Trials and Studies Coordinating Centre (NETSCC)

Dr Lisa Cotterill, Director for the NIHR Trainees Coordinating Centre (TCC) 

Jonathan Sheffield, CEO for the NIHR Clinical Research Network (CRN)

Programme Directors

Professor Tom Walley, Director for EME and Systematic Reviews Programmes

Professor Jo Rycroft-Malone, Director for Health Services and Delivery Research (HS&DR) Programme

Martin Hunt, Director for Invention for Innovation (i4i) Programme

Professor Paul Little, Director for Programme Grants for Applied Research (PGfAR)

Professor Martin White, Director for Public Health Research (PHR) Programme

Professor Sue Ziebland, Director for Research for Patient Benefit (RfPB) Programme

Professor Hywel Williams, Director of the Health Technology Assessment Programme

School Directors

Professor Richard Hobbs, Director for NIHR School for Primary Care Research

Professor Ashley Adamson, Director for NIHR School for Public Health Research

Professor Martin Knapp, Director for NIHR School for Social Care Research

Dissemination Centre

Peter Davidson, Director of the NIHR DIssemination Centre

Research Design Service (RDS) National Lead 

Dr Helen Hancock, National Lead for the NIHR Research Design Service 

Intellectual Property and Commercial

NIHR's Head of IP and Commercial, Ben Patient