School for Primary Care Research

Doctor and patient discuss spirometry

The School for Primary Care Research (SPCR) was the first school to be established within the NIHR in October 2006. The School comprises the leading academic centres for primary care research in England and their focus is on research to improve everyday practice in primary care.

The School has two complementary roles:

  • to conduct high-quality research to increase the amount of evidence to support primary care practice
  • to train future research leaders by providing multidisciplinary training and career development opportunities for all types of professionals who can contribute to primary care research.

The membership of the school increased from five founding academic university departments to eight in August 2009. Following an open competition in the summer of 2014, the renewed and refreshed membership of the school from 1 October 2015 to 30 September 2020 comprises:

  • University of Bristol
  • University of Cambridge
  • Keele University
  • University of Manchester
  • Newcastle University
  • University of Nottingham
  • University of Oxford
  • University of Southampton
  • University College London (UCL)

Professor Richard Hobbs has been re-appointed as Director for the School’s second five-year term.


Further information:

NIHR briefing document