Internet Explorer is no longer supported by Microsoft. To browse the NIHR site please use a modern, secure browser like Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

Development and Skills Enhancement Award Selection Committee


Published: 06 December 2021

Version: 2.0 - February 2024

Print this document

The remit of the Selection Committees is to support the development of the NIHR Development and Skills Enhancement Award, assess applications, interview candidates and make funding recommendations based on quality.

The NIHR Development and Skills Enhancement Award applications are reviewed by our Selection Committee which is reviewed regularly and adjusted in response to need. If you would like to register your interest to join this committee, please complete the expression of interest form.

The DSE Selection Committee is composed from the members listed below.

  • Professor Wendy Baird, (Chair), University of Sheffield
  • Professor Justin Durham, (Deputy Chair), Head of the School of Dental Sciences and Professor of Orofacial Pain, University of Newcastle
  • Professor Georgina Moulton, Professor of BioHealth Informatics and Education, University of Manchester
  • Professor Audrey Bowen, Professor of Neuropsychological Rehabilitation, University of Manchester
  • Professor Catherine Bowen, Professor in Podiatry, University of Southampton
  • Professor Graham Cooke, Professor of Infectious Diseases, Imperial College London
  • Dr Jonathan Hewitt, Clinical Senior Lecturer, Professor of Psychiatric Epidemiology and Clinical Informatics, Cardiff University
  • Professor Peter Hoskin, Professor of Clinical Oncology, University of Manchester
  • Professor Amy Grove, Professor of Health Technology Assessment and Implementation Science, University of Warwick
  • Professor Robert Stewart, Professor of Psychiatric Epidemiology and Clinical Informatics, King's College London
  • Dr Vicky Booth, Associate Professor/Associate Chief AHP for R&I, University of Nottingham
  • Dr Emma Murphy, Associate Clinical Professor in Nephrology Nursing, University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire NHS Trust
  • Dr Leslie Gelling, Associate Professor in Adult Nursing, University of Bournemouth
  • Professor Jo Cooper, Head of Nursing Research - Research Transformation at NHS England,
  • Dr Helen Strongman, Associate Professor,¬†London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine
  • Dr Rebecca Walwyn, Associate Professor of Clinical Trials Methodology, University of Leeds
  • Dr Chloe Bloom, Clinical Senior Lecturer in Respiratory Epidemiology, Imperial College London
  • Dr Hannah Rayment-Jones, NIHR Advanced Research Fellow, King's College London
  • Dr David Metcalfe, Clinical Lecturer in Emergency Medicine, University of Oxford