This site is optimised for modern browsers. For the best experience, please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

Beta

This is a new site which is still under development. We welcome your feedback, which will help improve it.

Feedback form

Find your NIHR Global Health Research (GHR) Programme Training Lead

 

Contents

Applicants to the NIHR Global Health Research Short Placement Award for Research Collaboration (GHR SPARC) are responsible for liaising with their NIHR Global Health Research Programme Training Lead and potential Host Institution and agreeing the scope of the placement prior to submitting an application.

This document will continue to be updated as we receive more information.  

Global Health Research Unit, Group or RIGHT ProgrammeTraining LeadInstitutionContact
NIHR Global Health Research Unit on Neglected Tropical Diseases, Brighton and Sussex Medical School Prof Gail Davey  University of Sussex, UK  g.davey@bsms.ac.uk  
NIHR Global Health Research Unit on Tackling Infections to Benefit Africa, The University of Edinburgh Dr Sam Kinyanjui
Prof Gordon Awandare 
KEMRI-Wellcome Trust, Kenya University of Ghana, Ghana  skmuchina@kemri-wellcome.org  
gawandare@ug.edu.gh  
NIHR Global Health Research Unit on Lung Health and Tuberculosis in Africa at Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine  Prof Kevin Mortimer  Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine, UK  kevin.mortimer@lstmed.ac.uk  
NIHR Global Health Research Unit on Mucosal Pathogens (MPRU), University College London       
NIHR Global Health Research Unit on Health System Strengthening in Sub-Saharan Africa, King's College London       
NIHR Global Health Research Unit on Diabetes and Cardiovascular Disease in South Asians, Imperial College London  Dr Sujeet Jha
Dr Prasad Katulanda 
Max Healthcare, India                
University of Colombo, Sri Lanka 
sujeet.jha@maxhealthcare.com 
prasad.katulanda@yahoo.com  
NIHR Global Health Research Unit Action on Salt China (ASC), Queen Mary University of London  Dr Changqiong Wang  Queen Mary University of London, UK  changqiong.wang@qmul.ac.uk  
NIHR Global Health Research Unit on Global Surgery, University of Birmingham       
NIHR Global Health Research Unit on Improving Health in Slums at University of Warwick  Professor Paramjit Gill  University of Warwick, UK  p.gill.1@warwick.ac.uk  
NIHR Global Health Research Unit on Health in Situations of Fragility at Queen Margaret University, Edinburgh       
NIHR Global Health Research Unit on Global Diabetes Outcomes Research, University of Dundee  Dr Fred Comerford
Dr R Guhu Pradeepa
University of Dundee, UK     
Madras Diabetes Research Foundation, Chennai, India 
f.a.comerford@dundee.ac.uk  
guhapradeepa@gmail.com
NIHR Global Health Research Unit on Respiratory Health (RESPIRE) at The University of Edinburgh Monica Fletcher University of Edinburgh monica.fletcher@ed.ac.uk  
NIHR Global Health Research Unit on Respiratory Health (RESPIRE) at The University of Edinburgh       
NIHR Global Health Research Unit on Genomic Surveillance of Antimicrobial Resistance, Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute       
NIHR Global Health Research Group on Improving Stroke Care, University of Central Lancashire  Ms Rachel Georgiou  University of Central Lancashire rgeorgiou@uclan.ac.uk  
NIHR Global Health Research Group on Diet and Activity, MRC Epidemiology Unit, University of Cambridge       
NIHR Global Health Research Group on Global Surgical Technologies, University of Leeds  Cheryl Harris  University of Leeds, UK c.a.harris@leeds.ac.uk  
NIHR Global Health Research Group on post Conflict Trauma; protect, Imperial College London  Dr Lucy Foss  Imperial College London, UK  l.foss@imperial.ac.uk  
NIHR Global Health Research Group on Nepal Injury Research, University of the West of England, Bristol       
NIHR Global Health Research Group on Stillbirth Prevention and Management in Sub-Saharan Africa, The University of Manchester  Dr Tracey A Mills  University of Manchester, UK  tracey.mills@manchester.ac.uk  
NIHR Global Health Research Group on Dementia Prevention and Enhanced Care (DePEC), Newcastle University       
NIHR Global Health Research Group on Early Childhood Development for Peacebuilding, Queen's University of Belfast       
NIHR Global Health Research Group on Prevention and Management of Non-communicable Diseases and HIV-infection in Africa, Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine  Dr Anupam Garrib Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine, UK  anupam.garrib@lstmed.ac.uk  
NIHR Global Health Research Group on Global Health Econometrics and Economics (GHE2), University of York       
NIHR Global Health Research Group on Global COPD in Primary Care, University of Birmingham  Dr Alexandra Enocson  University of Birmingham, UK  A.Enocson@bham.ac.uk  
NIHR Global Health Research Group on Developing Psycho-Social Interventions for Mental Health Care, Queen Mary University of London  Dr Victoria Bird  Queen Mary University of London, UK  v.j.bird@qmul.ac.uk  
NIHR Global Health Research Group on Social Policy and Health Inequalities led by the University of Glasgow  Miss Rosemeire L Fiaccone  Cidacs/Fiocruz – Bahia, Brazil  rose.fiaccone@gmail.com  
NIHR Global Health Research Group on Warfarin Anticoagulation in Patients with Cardiovascular Disease in Sub-Saharan Africa, University of Liverpool  Dr Neil French  University of Liverpool, UK  neil.french@liverpool.ac.uk  
NIHR Global Health Research Group on Neurotrauma, University of Cambridge      
NIHR Global Health Research Group on Psychosis Outcomes: the Warwick-India-Canada (WIC) Network, The University of Warwick Dr Thara Rangaswamy  Schizophrenia Research Foundation, India  thara@scarfindia.org  
NIHR Global Health Research Group on Evidence to Policy Pathway to Immunisation in China (NIHR EPIC), London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine Tracey Chantler  London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine, UK  tracey.chantler@lshtm.ac.uk  
NIHR Global Health Research Group on Burn Trauma, Swansea University Dr Jenine de Vries  Swansea University, Wales, UK  j.d.e.devries@swansea.ac.uk  
NIHR Global Health Research Group on African Snakebite Research, Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine      
NIHR Global Health Research Group on Road Safety, University of Southampton      
NIHR Global Health Research Group on Preterm Birth and Stillbirth at the University of Edinburgh (the DIPLOMATIC collaboration) at the University of Edinburgh Dr Sarah Stock
Dr Elizabeth Chodzaza
University of Edinburgh, UK    
University of Malawi, Malawi 
sarah.stock@ed.ac.uk  
echodzaza@kcn.unima.mw  
NIHR Global Health Research Group on Respiratory Rehabilitation – (Global RECHARGE) at The University of Leicester      
NIHR Global Health Research Group on Preterm Birth Prevention and Management (PRIME) at The University of Sheffield Dr Caroline Mitchell  University of Sheffield, UK  prime@sheffield.ac.uk  
c.mitchell@sheffield.ac.uk  
NIHR Global Health Research Group on Estimating the Prevalence, Quality of Life, Economic and Societal Impact of Arthritis in Tanzania: a Mixed Methods Study at University of Glasgow Dr Jo Halliday  University of Glasgow, UK  jo.halliday@glasgow.ac.uk  
NIHR Global Health Research Group on Improving Asthma Outcomes in African Children at Queen Mary University of London      
NIHR Global Health Research Group on Sepsis at the Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine Dr Jamie Rylance  Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine, UK  jamie.rylance@lstmed.ac.uk  
NIHR Global Health Research Group on a Package of Care for the Mental Health of Survivors of Violence in South Asia at University College London Dr Delan Devakumar  University College London, UK  d.devakumar@ucl.ac.uk  
NIHR Global Health Research Group on Asthma Attacks Causes and Prevention Study in Urban Latin America at St George's, University of London      
NIHR Global Health Research Group on Stroke at King's College London      
NIHR Global Health Research Group on Addressing Smokeless Tobacco and Building Research Capacity in South Asia (ASTRA) at the University of York Dr Romaina Iqbal
Dr Mona Kanaan 
Aga Khan Medical University, Pakistan
University of York, UK 

romaina.iqbal@aku.edu
mona.kanaan@york.ac.uk

NIHR Global Health Research Group on the Application of Genomics and Modelling to the Control of Virus Pathogens (gemvi) in East Africa at the University of Warwick Dr Sam Kinyanjui  KEMRI-Wellcome Trust, Kenya  skmuchina@kemri-wellcome.org  
NIHR Global Health Research Group on Genomic Surveillance of Malaria in West Africa at the Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute      
NIHR Global Health Research Group on Improving the Management of Acute Brain Infections at University of Liverpool      
NIHR Global Health Research Group on Atrial Fibrillation Management at the University of Birmingham Dr Emma Lancashire  University of Birmingham, UK  e.r.lancashire@bham.ac.uk  
NIHR Global Health Research Group on Health System Responses to Violence Against Women at University of Bristol Dr Claire Hawcroft  University of Bristol, UK  claire.hawcroft@bristol.ac.uk  
NIHR Global Health Research Group on Improving Outcomes in Mental and Physical Multimorbidity and Developing Research Capacity (IMPACT) in South Asia at the University of York Dr Tolib Mirzoev  University of Leeds, UK  t.mirzoev@leeds.ac.uk  
NIHR Global Health Research Group on Improving Outcomes in Sub-Saharan African Diabetes through Better Diagnosis and Treatment at the University of Exeter      
NIHR Global Health Research Group on From Surviving to Thriving: Assessing and Responding to Occupational and Public Health Risks in Informal Settlements and for Informal Workers and the Effects of Climate Change on These Risks: Building Learning from India and Zimbabwe at the IIED      
NIHR Global Health Research Group on Leveraging Improved Nutrition Preconception, During Pregnancy and Postpartum in Sub-Saharan Africa through Novel Intervention Models, Southampton 1000 days plus Global Nutrition, at the University of Southampton      
NIHR Global Health Research Group on Clean Energy Access for the Prevention of Non-communicable Disease in Africa through Clean Air: CLEAN-AIR (Africa) at the University of Liverpool Dr Reginald Quansah  University of Ghana, Ghana  rquansah@ug.edu.gh