This site is optimised for modern browsers. For the best experience, please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

Beta Site: This is a new site which is still under development. We welcome your feedback, which will help improve it.

Feedback form

HS&DR Prioritisation Committee (Commissioned) members



HS&DR Prioritisation Committee (Commissioned)

The HS&DR Prioritisation Committee (commissioned) assesses stage 1 proposals received through the commissioned workstream, primarily for importance to the NHS and social care. The committee also considers the need for research across a range of key topics, and helps to refine and develop commissioning briefs to be advertised to the researcher community. The committee is composed of senior health and social care managers and clinicians, academic experts and public contributors.

Dr Peter Brindle Medical Director (Clinical Effectiveness), Bristol, North Somerset and South Gloucestershire CCGs
Deputy Chair Organisation
Professor Judith Smith Professor of Health Policy and Management and Director of Health Services Management, University of Birmingham
Member Organisation
Miss Alison Allam Public Contributor
Dr Rebecca Fisher Senior Lecturer Stroke Rehabilitation, University of Nottingham
Dr Nicola Hilton NHS Manager, Medicine & Cardiac, St Georges Hospital
Professor Carmel Hughes Professor of Primary Care Pharmacy, Queens University Belfast
Dr Suzanne Ii Postdoctoral Researcher, University of Oxford
Professor Sue Jordan Professor of Health Services Research (personal research chair), Swansea University
Professor Umesh Kadam Professor of Primary Care and Public Health Research, University of Leicester
Dr Mona Kanaan Senior Lecturer (Associate Professor) Health Research and Statistics, University of York
Dr Richard McNally Reader in Epidemiology, University of Newcastle Upon Tyne
Dr Tiritega Mawaka CHC Manager, NHS Continuing Healthcare
Professor Holly Nelson-Becker Professor of Social Work and Division Lead, Brunel University London
Dr Silviya Nikolova Lecturer in Health Economics, University of Leeds
Dr Adam Noble Lecturer in Health services research (Neurology), University of Liverpool
Mrs Linda Parton Public Contributor
Mr James Rimmer Chief Executive, NHS Somerset Clinical Commissioning Group
Dr Carol Rivas Associate Professor, Social Policy and Programme Evaluation, UCL
Professor Sasha Shepperd Professor of Health Services Research, University of Oxford
Mrs Victoria Tatton Registered Practitioner (Social work)
Professor Lois Thomas Professor of Health Services Research, University of Central Lancashire
Dr Victoria Tzortziou Brown General Practitioner and CCG Lead in Integrated Care and Research, NHS Tower Hamlets Clinical Commissioning Group
Ms Elizabeth Wade Senior Policy Advisor, NHS Improvement
Mrs Adele Webb Public Contributor
Ms Charlotte Williams Group Director - Strategy & New Care Models at Basildon, Mid Essex and Southend Hospital Group, Basildon & Thurrock University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
Dr Iestyn Williams Reader in Health Policy and Management, University of Birmingham