This site is optimised for modern browsers. For the best experience, please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.


We welcome your feedback, which will help improve this site.

Feedback form

HS&DR Prioritisation Committee (Researcher-led) members



The HS&DR Prioritisation Committee (Researcher-led) assesses stage 1 proposals received through the researcher-led workstream, primarily for importance to health and social care services. The committee is composed of senior health and social care managers and clinicians, academic experts and public contributors.

Dr Mark Lambert Consultant in Specialised Services Public Health, Public Health England
Deputy Chair Organisation
Dr Rebecca Randell Associate Professor in Applied Health Research, University of Leeds
Member Organisation
Professor Jane Appleton

Professor of Primary and Community Care Department of Midwifery, Community and Public Health Oxford Brookes University

Dr Mo Aye Consultant Physician and Endocrinologist, Honorary Senior Lecturer, Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust
Dr Jessica Baxendale Senior Analytical Manager, Operational Research & Evaluation Unit NHS England
Professor Debra Bick Professor of Clinical Trials in Maternal Health University of Warwick
Dr Laura Bojke Reader Health Economics & Outcomes Measurement University of York
Dr Alex Bottle Reader in Medical Statistics, Imperial College London
Dr Brendan Collins Tenure Track Fellow - Public Health Economist  University of Liverpool
Ms Dawn Craig Professor of Practice in Evidence Synthesis, Population Health Sciences Institute; Co-Director NIHR Innovation Observatory, Newcastle University
Dr Sarah Finer Clinical Senior Lecturer in Diabetes, Barts and The London School of Medicine and Dentistry
Dr Lorna Gibson Deputy Director, NHS England - NHS Improvement on secondment from Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust.
Directorate General Manager, Acute NHS - Operations Guy's and St Thomas' NHS
Dr Julie Hankin Executive medical director / R&D Director, Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust
Ms Sandy Harvey Public Contributor
Dr Kerryn Husk Senior Research Fellow- Health Services, University of Plymouth
Dr Matthew Jones Lecturer in Pharmacy Practice and NIHR Transitional Research Fellow University of Bath
Ms Doreen Joseph Public Contributor
Ms Alison Ledward Public Contributor
Professor Brendan McCormack Professor and Head of the Division of Nursing, Queen Margaret University
Mrs Samantha Midwinter OT Assistant Team Manager Advice and Wellbeing Hub Directorate of Adult Care & Health Services Reading Council
Dr Abeda Mulla Transformation Programme Manager, Midlands and Lancashire CSU
Professor Catherine Pope Professor of Medical Sociology, University of Oxford
Professor Sarah Purdy Pro Vice-Chancellor (Student Experience) University of Bristol, Senior Team Executive Office
Dr Karen Ritchie Deputy Director, Healthcare Improvement Scotland
Ms Peta Stross Chief Operating Officer Salford Primary Care Together  
Professor Catherine Walshe Professor in Palliative Care, Lancaster University
Professor Robert West Professor of Biostatistics, University of Leeds
Dr Andrea Williamson General Practitioner and Clinical Senior University Lecturer General Practice and Primary Care University of Glasgow