Internet Explorer is no longer supported by Microsoft. To browse the NIHR site please use a modern, secure browser like Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

HTA Prioritisation Committee: Hospital Based Care - members


Published: 27 May 2022

Version: 9.0 March 2024

Print this document

This committee will advise on the development of topics from across the HTA remit but will have strengths in inside hospital care.


Professor Anthony De Soyza - Professor of Pulmonary Medicine, Newcastle University

Deputy Chair

Dr Cheryl Battersby - NIHR Clinician Scientist, Clinical Senior Lecturer Neonatal Medicine, Imperial College London; Honorary Consultant Neonatologist, Chelsea and Westminster NHS Foundation Trust


  • Professor Abhishek Abhishek - Professor of Rheumatology, University of Nottingham; Honorary Consultant Rheumatologist, Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Professor Augusto Azuara-Blanco - Clinical Professor of Ophthalmology, Queen's University Belfast; Honorary NHS Consultant Ophthalmologist, Belfast Health and Social Care Trust
  • Professor Iain Bruce - Consultant Paediatric Otolaryngologist, Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust
  • Professor Ian Chetter - Chair of Surgery, Hull York Medical School, University of Hull; Chair Research Committee, Vascular Society Great Britain and Ireland
  • Professor Matthew Costa - Professor of Orthopaedic Trauma, University of Oxford
  • Dr Keith Couper - Assistant Professor in Emergency and Critical Care, University of Warwick
  • Mrs Lucy Dwyer - Clinical Nurse Specialist, Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust
  • Mr Robin Forrest - Public Contributor
  • Professor Steve Halligan - Professor of Gastrointestinal Radiology and Head of UCL Centre for Medical Imaging, University College London
  • Mr Thomas Hamilton - NIHR Academic Clinical Fellow, Trauma and Orthopaedics, University of Oxford
  • Professor William Hope - Dame Sally Davies Chair of AMR Research, Director of Centre of Excellence in Infectious Diseases Research, University of Liverpool
  • Professor Michael Jenkinson - Sir John Fisher Foundation / RCSEng Chair of Surgical Trials and Professor of Neurosurgery / Honorary Consultant Neurosurgeon, University of Liverpool
  • Mr Robert Jones - Consultant Hepatobiliary and General Surgeon, Liverpool University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Professor Sinead Langan - Professor of Clinical Epidemiology and Consultant Dermatologist, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
  • Dr Gillian Lowe - Consultant Haematologist, University Hospital Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust
  • Dr Shrouk Messahel - Consultant in Paediatric Emergency Medicine, Alder Hey Children's Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
  • Mrs Zoe Morrison - Paediatric Research Nurse Specialist, Cardiff and Vale University Health Board
  • Dr Stephen Mullin - Associate Professor in Neurology, University of Plymouth; Neurology Consultant, Derriford Hospital
  • Professor Nick Oliver - Wynn Professor of Metabolism, Imperial College London
  • Dr Dhruv Parekh - Associate Clinical Professor in Critical Care and Respiratory Medicine, University of Birmingham and University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust
  • Dr Nazima Pathan - Paediatric Intensive Care Unit Consultant, University of Cambridge / Addenbrooke’s Hospital
  • Miss Jessica Pawson - Lead Research Physiotherapist - Musculoskeletal & Orthopaedics, Barts Health NHS Trust
  • Dr Jon Silversides - Clinical Senior Lecturer in Critical Care, Queen's University Belfast
  • Dr Peter Swoboda - Cardiology Consultant, Mid Yorks NHS Trust; Honorary Senior Lecturer, Leeds Institute of Cardiovascular and Metabolic Medicine, University of Leeds
  • Mrs Pritpal Virk - Public Contributor
  • Dr Helena Watson - Obstetrics & Gynaecology Specialist Registrar, Lewisham and Greenwich NHS Trust