Internet Explorer is no longer supported by Microsoft. To browse the NIHR site please use a modern, secure browser like Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

Invention for Innovation - Challenge Awards Call 11 Stage 2 Minutes


12 August 2021




Minutes of the Invention for Innovation (i4i) programme Committee meeting to discuss Stage 2 applications to call 11 of the i4i Challenge Awards.

Date and Location

Wednesday 7 July 2021 via online virtual meeting.

In attendance

Funding Committee members

Professor Nick Lemoine (Chair)
Ms Jo Smart (Deputy Chair)
Mrs Janet Champion
Mr Chris Chaney
Dr David Kryl
Mr Steve Morris
Professor Amar Rangan
Professor Wendy Tindale MBE
Mr Stuart Mealing
Professor Najib M Rahman
Professor Dominick Shaw

NIHR CCF i4i Secretariat

Professor Mike Lewis (Programme Director)
Dr Ruth Nebauer (Assistant Director)
Dr Silvana Cossins
Dr Caterina Lombardo
Dr Ian Newington
Dr Sandra Nwokeoha
Dr Xi Ye


Dr Sarah Markham
Mr Simon Thorn

Operations Team

Mrs Kathryn Rumney
Mr Bryan Dar
Ms Tanya Dixey


Dr Yarunnessa Khan
Dr Dani Preedy

Applications invited to present at Stage 2 

NIHR202941: Delivering Innovation through Guided Implementation of Technology in Acute and uncontrolLed AsthmaDIGITAL ASTHMA
Conflict Committee Member: Dr David Kryl, Professor Najib M Rahman, Dr Dani Preedy
Funding Committee recommendation: Reject

NIHR202946: Does enhanced remote asthma monitoring in children and young people result in fewer asthma attacks?
Conflict Committee Member: Dr Iain Hennessey, Stuart Mealing
Funding Committee recommendation: Reject

NIHR202949: Technology Enhanced integrAted asthMa care. TEAM-care
Conflict Committee Member: Professor Nick Lemoine, Professor Najib M Rahman
Funding Committee recommendation: Support

NIHR202950: Real-time Adaptive Predictive Indicator of Deterioration 2
Conflict Committee Member: None
Funding Committee recommendation: Reject