Internet Explorer is no longer supported by Microsoft. To browse the NIHR site please use a modern, secure browser like Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

Invention for Innovation – PDA Call 21 Stage 2 Minutes Committee A


19 August 2021




Minutes of the Invention for Innovation (i4i) Programme Committee A Meeting to discuss applications to Product Development Awards Call 21 Stage 2.

Date and Location

Meeting held on Tuesday 22 June 2021 via Zoom virtual meeting.

In attendance

Funding Committee A members

Mr Mark Kirby (Chair)
Professor Paul Sibbons (Deputy Chair)
Ms Mary Anne Cordeiro
Ms Alice Evans
Dr Eldrid Herrington
Dr Thomas Keeble
Dr Zahid Latif
Professor James Moore
Dr Krishan Ramdoo
Dr Matthew  Reeves
Dr Julie Simmonds
Dr Andrew  Sims
Dr Gill Vivian
Dr Peter Watkinson
Mr Tim Wright


Professor Mike Lewis (Programme Director)
Dr Ruth Nebauer (Assistant Director)
Dr Andrew Barber
Dr Fanny Burrows
Dr Silvana Cossins
Dr Michelle Edye
Dr Aayesha Hassan
Ms Ami Hodges
Dr Caterina Lombardo
Mrs Paula Milton
Dr Ian Newington
Miss Deimante Normantaite
Dr Sandra Nwokeoha
Dr Raffaella Roncone
Miss Rhanda Tajdeen
Mr Edwin Tucker
Dr Xi Ye


Professor David Jayne
Mr Peter Webster

Operations Team

Mrs Kathryn Rumney
Mr Bryan Dar
Ms Tanya Dixey


Mr Ravi Chana
Mr Stephen Critchlow
Professor Andrew Farmer
Ms Stella O'brien
Dr Nick de Pennington

Applications assessed at Stage 2

NIHR202870: Development of a System to Provide an Automatic Diagnosis for Vestibular Conditions
Conflict Committee Member: None
Funding Committee recommendation: Support

NIHR202871: Handheld Spectroscopic Eye-safe Technology for Point-of-Care Diagnostics of Traumatic Brain Injury - 'EyeTBI'
Conflict Committee Member: Dr Peter Watkinson
Funding Committee recommendation: Reject

NIHR202877: Development of practical Smart Walking Aid Systems for evidence-informed clinical practice and real-world monitoring.
Conflict Committee Member: None 
Funding Committee recommendation: Reject

NIHR202879: Sensorised Micro-Surgical Robot for Safe Regenerative Retinal Therapy Delivery
Conflict Committee Member: None
Funding Committee recommendation: Reject

NIHR202884: Investigation of a digital health solution providing real-time inhaler technique guidance.
Conflict Committee Member: Dr Krishan Ramdoo
Funding Committee recommendation: Support

NIHR202921: NIAdvanced prototype for implementing the 1-hour algorithm for troponin testing at the point of careHR seven
Conflict Committee Member: Dr Andrew Sims
Funding Committee recommendation: Reject

NIHR202932: Development of a synthetic membrane (SAM) substituting human amniotic membrane (HAM) for ocular surface reconstruction.
Conflict Committee Member: None
Funding Committee recommendation: Reject

NIHR202935: Can novel ureteric stents offer a better patient outcome compared to existing standard ureteric stents (CASSETTE)
Conflict Committee Member: Dr Matthew Reeves
Funding Committee recommendation: Support