This site is optimised for modern browsers. For the best experience, please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.


We welcome your feedback, which will help improve this site.

Feedback form

Mental Health Urgent Public Health Group Members







Professor Nick Lemoine

Director CRUK Barts Centre, Medical Director NIHR Clinical Research Network: Queen Mary University of London


Deputy Chair


Deputy Chair


Professor Phil Evans

Associate Professor of General Practice and Primary Care, and GP: University of Exeter






Prof Kathryn Abel

Professor of Psychological Medicine and Reproductive Psychiatry at the University of Manchester, Director of the Centre for Women's Mental Health within the Division of Psychology and Mental Health, Consultant Psychiatrist in Manchester Mental Health and Social Care Trust

Prof Jon Bisson

Professor in Psychiatry at Cardiff University School of Medicine

Prof Judith Bliss

Professor of Clinical Trials and Director of Cancer Research UK funded Clinical Trials & Statistics Unit (ICR-CTSU): The Institute of Cancer Research, London

Prof Julia Brown

Professor of Clinical Trials Research and Director of the UKCRC Registered Clinical Trials Unit Network: Leeds University

Prof David Ekers

Senior Nurse Consultant in Tees Esk and Wear Valleys NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Jonathan Evans

Consultant Senior Lecturer Perinatal Mental Health and Epidemiology of Depression at University of Bristol

Dr Emilio Fernandez

Consultant Psychiatrist at Cambridgeshire and Peterborough NHS Foundation Trust

Prof Tamsin Ford CBE

Professor of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry at the University of Cambridge

Prof Paul French

Clinical Lead for Early Intervention in Psychosis services across Greater Manchester Mental Health

Prof Ann John

Professor in Public Health and Psychiatry at the Swansea University Medical School

Prof Gerry Leavey

Director of Research for Barnet, Enfield & Haringey Mental Health NHS Trust

Prof Rory O’Connor

Chair in Health Psychology (Mental Health & Wellbeing) at University of Glasgow

Prof Andrew McIntosh

Professor of Biological Psychiatry at The University of Edinburgh

Dr Andrew Molodynski

Consultant Psychiatrist at Oxford Health NHS Foundation Trust

Prof Marcus Munafo

Professor of Biological Psychology at the University of Bristol

Prof Taj Nathan

Consultant Forensic Psychiatrist and Director of Research and Effectiveness at Cheshire and Wirral Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

Prof Emily Simonoff

Professor of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry at the Institute of Psychiatry, King’s College London

Prof Swaran Singh

Professor of Social and Community Psychiatry at University of Warwick

Prof Daniel Smith

Professor of Psychiatry (Mental Health & Wellbeing) at University of Glasgow

Prof Rachel Upthegrove

Professor of Psychiatry and Youth Mental Health at the University of Birmingham, and Consultant Psychiatrist in the Birmingham Early Intervention in Psychosis