Internet Explorer is no longer supported by Microsoft. To browse the NIHR site please use a modern, secure browser like Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

NIHR Advanced Fellowship Selection Committee


Published: 13 June 2019

Version: 6.0 December 2023

Print this document

The remit of the Selection Committees is to support the development of the scheme, assess applications, interview candidates and make funding recommendations based on quality.

The NIHR Advanced Fellowship (AF) applications are reviewed by two Committees. The make-up of the Selection Committees is reviewed regularly and adjusted in response to need. If you would like to register your interest to join this committee, please complete the expression of interest form.

The interview Committees of the NIHR Fellowships will be composed from the members listed below.

  • Professor Umesh Kadam (Co-Chair) - Professor of General Practice and Public Health Research, University of Exeter
  • Professor Eileen Kaner (Co-Chair) - Professor of Public Health and Primary Care Research University of Newcastle
  • Professor Calum Semple (Deputy Chair) - Professor of Child Health and Outbreak Medicine, University of Liverpool
  • Professor Diana Barralle (Deputy Chair) - Professor of Genomic Medicine, University of Southampton 
  • Professor Tim Croudace (Deputy Chair) - Professor of Applied Health Research University of Dundee
  • Professor Matt Sutton (Deputy Chair) - Professor of Health Economics The University of Manchester
  • Professor Keith Abrams - Professor of Statistics and Data Science, University of Warwick
  • Professor Karl Atkin - Professor of Sociology University of York
  • Professor Ira Madan - Professor of Occupational Medicine, King's College London
  • Professor Judith Bliss - Professor of Clinical Trials Institute of Cancer Research, London
  • Professor Alan Brennan - Professor of Health Economics and Decision Modelling University of Sheffield
  • Professor Andrew Briggs - Professor of Health Economics at London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine
  • Professor John Cairns - Professor of Health Economics London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine
  • Professor Ernest Choy - Professor and Head of Rheumatology University of Cardiff
  • Professor Cathy Creswell  - Professor of Developmental Clinical Psychology at University of Oxford
  • Professor George Gkoutos - Professor of Clinical Bioinformatics University of Birmingham
  • Professor Sheila Greenfield - Professor of Medical Sociology University of Birmingham
  • Dr Richard Hooper - Professor of Medical Statistics at Queen Mary University of London
  • Professor David Jayne - Professor of Surgery University of Leeds
  • Professor Steven Julious - Professor of Medical Statistics University of Sheffield
  • Professor Umesh Kadam - Professor of Primary Care and Public Health Research University of Leicester
  • Professor Gill Livingston - Professor of Psychiatry of Older People University College London
  • Professor Karina Lovell - Professor of Mental Health The University of Manchester
  • Professor Jill Manthorpe - Professor of Social Work King’s College London
  • Professor Dion Morton - Professor of Surgery University of Birmingham
  • Professor Catherine Pope - Professor of Medical Sociology University of Southampton
  • Professor Jane Sandall - Professor of Social Science and Women's Health King’s College London
  • Professor Calum Semple - Professor in Child Health and Outbreak Medicine University of Liverpool
  • Professor Gareth Thomas - Professor of Experimental Pathology, Consultant in Histopathology University of Southampton
  • Professor Dame Caroline Watkins - Professor of Stroke and Older People's Care & Faculty of Health and Care Director of Research and Enterprise at University of Central Lancashire
  • Professor Annette Boaz - Professor of Health Care Research at  St George's, University of London
  • Professor Jim Wild - Professor of Magnetic Resonance Physics at University of Sheffield
  • Professor Udai Banerji, Professor of Molecular Cancer Pharmacology, Institute of Cancer Research, London
  • Professor Monica Busse-Morris, Director Health and Care Research Wales Faculty, Cardiff University
  • Professor Amanda Daley, Professor of Behavioural Medicine, Loughborough University
  • Professor Max Parmar, Professor of Medical Statistics & Epidemiology, University College London
  • Professor Rupert Pearse, Professor of Intensive Care Medicine, Queen Mary University of London
  • Professor Rob Poole, Professor of Social Psychiatry, University of Bangor
  • Professor Dawn Skelton, Professor in Ageing and Health, Glasgow Caledonian University
  • Professor Sue Ziebland, Professor of Medical Sociology, University of Oxford
  • Professor Martin Tobin - Professor of Genetic Epidemiology and Public Health - University of Leicester
  • Professor Chris Todd - Professor of Primary Care & Community Health - University of Manchester
  • Professor Kapil Sayal - Professor of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry - University of Nottingham