This site is optimised for modern browsers. For the best experience, please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

NIHR Senior Investigators Committee


Membership of the selection committee for Competition 14 (2020) of the the NIHR Senior Investigators scheme.

Chair and Supporting Chair

Professor Marion Walker (Chair) Professor in Stroke Rehabilitation University of Nottingham
Professor Jadwiga Wedzicha Professor of Respiratory Medicine Imperial College London


Committee Members

Professor David Adams Pro-Vice-Chancellor and Head of College of Medical and Dental Sciences University of Birmingham
Professor Gianni Angelini Professor of Cardiac Surgery and Director University of Bristol
Professor Mitch Dowsett Professor of Biochemical Endocrinology The Royal Marsden
Mr Stephen Edgar Public Member  
Professor Anne Forster Professor of Stroke Rehabilitation University of Leeds
Professor Richard Lilford Director of NIHR Applied Research Centre West Midlands University of Birmingham
Mrs Michelle McPhail Public Member  
Professor Irwin Nazareth Professor of Primary Care and Population Science University College London
Professor David Neal Professor of Surgical Oncology University of Cambridge
Professor Martin Orrell Director of the Institute of Mental Health University of Nottingham
Professor Sir Munir Pirmohamed Professor of Pharmacology Molecular and Clinical Pharmacology University of Liverpool
Professor Alison Richardson Professor of Cancer Nursing and End of Life Care University of Southampton
Professor Olivia Wu Professor of Health Technology Assessment University of Glasgow
Professor Sue Ziebland Professor of Medical Sociology University of Oxford