This site is optimised for modern browsers. For the best experience, please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

Programme Grants for Applied Research - Subcommittee A


NIHR Programme Grants for Applied Research has two subcommittees that assess Stage 2 applications.

Subcommittee A chairs

Professor Richard Watt and Professor Jonathan Mant are the Co-Chairs of PGfAR subcommittee A.

Subcommittee A membership


  • Hemant Pandit
  • Richard McManus
  • Stephanie Taylor
  • Matthew Hickman
  • Fliss Murtagh
  • Eileen Kaner 
  • Gregory Lip
  • Anthony Avery
  • Carmel Hughes
  • Khalida Ismail


  • Mavis Wenham
  • Anica Alvarez Nishio
  • Ngawai Moss 
  • Julie Stone


  • Kelvin Jordan
  • Isabel Reading
  • Stephen Walters
  • Kimberley Goldsmith

Health economists

  • Claire Hulme 
  • Subhash Pokhrel 
  • David Meads

Qualitative and behavioural experts

  • Catherine Haighton
  • Stephen Gillard 
  • Lisa Hinton
  • Kavita Vedhara
  • Glenn Robert