Internet Explorer is no longer supported by Microsoft. To browse the NIHR site please use a modern, secure browser like Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

Pre-doctoral Clinical and Practitioner Academic Fellowship Scheme Selection Committee Members Round 6 (2023)


Published: 27 January 2023

Version: 1.0

Print this document

Selection committee members for Round 6 (2023) of the HEE/NIHR Integrated Clinical and Practitioner Academic Programme Pre-doctoral Clinical Fellowship are listed below.

If you would like to register your interest to join this committee, please complete the expression of interest form.

Professor Janelle Yorke (Chair)

Professor of Cancer Nursing, University of Manchester

Dr Sharon Docherty

Senior Lecturer in Quantitative Methodology & Statistics, Bournemouth University 

Professor Joy Duxbury

Professor of Mental Health, Manchester Metropolitan University

Dr John Gierula

Post-doctoral Research Fellow, University of Leeds

Professor Jorg Huber

Professor of Health Sciences, University of Brighton

Professor Paul May

Director of Clinical Academic Development, University of Liverpool

Dr Nicola O’Brien

Associate Professor in Psychology, Northumbria University

Dr Ilhem Berrou

Senior Lecturer in Applied Pharmacology, University of the West of England

Dr Karen Knapp

Associate Professor in Musculoskeletal Imaging, University of Exeter

Dr Kathryn Jarvis

Senior Lecturer in Occupational Therapy, University of Central Lancashire

Professor Lindsay Bearne

Professor of Physiotherapy and Rehabilitation, Kingston & St George's, University of London

Dr Helen Pryce

Senior Lecturer in Hearing Therapy/ Audiology, Aston University

Dr Emma English

Associate Professor in Health Sciences, University of East Anglia

Professor Peter Day

Professor of Children’s Oral Health, University of Leeds

Dr Helen McNair

Reader in Translational Therapeutic Radiography, Institute of Cancer Research

Professor Stephen Wordsworth

Professor of Healthcare Education and Practice, University of Derby

Professor Annette Hand

Professor of Nursing – Clinical Academic, Northumbria University

Professor Bertha Ochieng

Professor of Integrated Health and Social Care, De Montfort University

Dr Clive Holmwood

Associate Professor of Therapeutic Arts, University of Derby

Professor Samantha Harrison

Professor in Respiratory Rehabilitation, Teesside University

Dr Emma Godfrey

Senior Lecturer in Health Psychology, King’s College London

Professor Lindsay Pennington

Professor of Childhood Neurodisability, Newcastle University

Dr Victoria Shepherd

Senior Research Fellow (Nurse), Cardiff University

Dr Cristina Fernandez Turienzo

Research Fellow, King’s College London

Dr Tracey Mills

Senior Lecturer, Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine

Dr Vanessa Abrahamson

Research Associate, University of Kent

Dr Jonathan Tammam

Director, Centre for Nutrition and Health, Oxford Brookes University