This site is optimised for modern browsers. For the best experience, please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

Programme Grants for Applied Research - Competition 31 Stage 2 minutes


Minutes of the Programme Grants for Applied Research (PGfAR) Sub-Committee C meeting to discuss applications to PGfAR Competition 31 Stage 2.

Date and location

Meeting held 23 June 2020 via online video meeting.

In attendance

Committee members

Professor Kate Jolly (Chair)
Professor Jonathan Mant (Supporting chair)
Professor Cindy Cooper
Professor Robbie Foy
Professor Laura Gray
Mr Philip Hurst
Associate-Professor Andrew Judge
Professor Belinda Lennox
Professor Richard Lilford
Professor Richard Martin
Professor Gavin Perkins
Ms Jane Whitehurst

Committee members who submitted written comments

Professor Garry Barton
Dr Sandy Tubeuf
Dr Carolyn Tarrant
Professor Bridget Young
Professor Jackie Sturt
Dr Mark Tarrant (external reviewer)

Versus Arthritis attendees

Dr Tom Sanders
Mrs Debra Dulake
Dr Anna Durrans
Mr Colin Wilkinson

Programme Director

Professor Elaine Hay


Mr Rajinder Flora (NIHR CCF)
Ms Fiona Giles (NIHR CCF)
Ms Saprina Harrison (NIHR CCF)
Ms Amrit Mann (NIHR CCF)
Mr Ian Beason (NIHR CCF)
Ms Cordelia Davey (NIHR CCF)


Ms Rita Long

Applications considered

NIHR201616: Developing evidence based optimal testing strategies to monitor long term conditions in primary care
Lead Applicant: Dr Penny Whiting
Lead Assessors: Cindy Cooper (1), Richard Lilford (2)
Conflicts: Professor Andrew Judge and Professor Richard Martin
Outcome: Conditional support (phased fund)

Professor Andrew Judge and Professor Richard Martin returned

NIHR201618: Supporting Physical and Activity through Co-production in people with Severe Mental Illness (SPACES)
Lead Applicant: Dr Emily Peckham
Lead Assessors: Richard Lilford (1), Richard Martin (2)
Conflicts: Professor Robbie Foy and Professor Cindy Cooper
Outcome: Conditional support (phased fund)

Professor Robbie Foy and Professor Cindy Cooper returned

Professor Elaine Hay and Professor Richard Lilford left the meeting.

Dr Tom Sanders, Mrs Debra Dulake, Mr Colin Wilkinson and Dr Anna Durrans joined the meeting.

NIHR201619: GRoup Alexander lessons for Chronic musculoskeletal pain in Everyday practice (GRACE)
Lead Applicant: Professor Paul Little
Lead Assessors: Robbie Foy (1), Cindy Cooper (2), Tom Sanders (3)
Conflicts: None
Outcome: Reject

NIHR201612: Development and evaluation of the Digital-My Arm Pain Programme (D-MAPP) for improving painful distal upper limb musculoskeletal disorders
Lead Applicant: Professor Philip Conaghan
Lead Assessors: Richard Martin (1), Belinda Lennox (2) Tom Sanders (3)
Conflicts: Professor Robbie Foy
Outcome: Conditional support (phased fund)

Professor Andrew Judge and Professor Richard Martin left the meeting.

NIHR201599: Personalised care for pain before knee replacement: ‘PREPARE’
Lead Applicant: Professor Rachael Gooberman-Hill
Lead Assessors: Belinda Lennox (1), Robbie Foy (2), Tom Sanders (3)
Conflicts: None
Outcome: Reject

Outcomes table

This table displays the number of applications awarded each score in the committee meeting for PGfAR Competition 31 Stage 2. No ranking within columns should be inferred. PGfAR will fund applications that score in the range of 6-10, although a score of 6-10 does not guarantee funding. In exceptional circumstances and with approval from the Programme Director, applications may be invited/funded that fall below the fundable range (scoring 1-5).

ScoreRangeNumber of applications
10 Fundable  0
9 Fundable  1
8 Fundable  4
7 Fundable  1
6 Fundable  0
5 Rejected  3
4 Rejected  1
3 Rejected  0
2 Rejected  0
1 Rejected  0