This site is optimised for modern browsers. For the best experience, please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

Programme Grants for Applied Research (PGfAR) Sub-Committee B - Minutes of the PGfAR Competition 32 Stage 2


Minutes of the Programme Grants for Applied Research (PGfAR) Sub-Committee B meeting to discuss applications to Competition 32 Stage 2.

Date and location

Meeting held 5 November 2020 via online video meeting.

In attendance 


Professor Jonathan Mant (Chair)
Dr Philip Edge
Professor Robbie Foy
Professor Matthew Hickman
Professor Eileen Kaner
Professor Marian Knight
Mrs Ngawai Moss
Professor Felicity (Fliss) Murtagh
Professor Andy Vail
Professor Stephen Walters

Programme Director

Professor Elaine Hay

Versus Arthritis

Professor Christopher Armitage
Professor Bhaskar Dasgupta
Mrs Debra Dulake


Mr Raj Flora (NIHR CCF)
Ms Fiona Giles (NIHR CCF)
Ms Saprina Harrison (NIHR CCF)
Ms Batool Khan (NIHR CCF)


Mr Colin Wilkinson (Versus Arthritis - written comments provided)


Mrs Yesmin Begum (PPI observer)
Professor Sarah Dean (University of Exeter)
Dr Anna Durrans (Versus Arthritis)
Dr Isabel Reading (University of Southampton)

Applications considered

NIHR202360: Rationalising AntiPsychotic treatment in adults with Intellectual Disabilities (RAPID)
Lead Applicant: Professor Saumitra Deb
Conflicts: Professor Eileen Kaner
Outcome: Reject

Professor Christopher Armitage and Bhaskar Dasgupta joined the meeting

NIHR202359: Addressing Child and Adolescent Musculoskeletal Pain: the CAM-Pain Programme
Lead Applicant: Professor Kate Dunn
Conflicts: Professor Elaine Hay
Outcome: Resubmission to Stage 2

NIHR202030: Transforming outpatient consultations by integrating regular symptom tracking into clinical care
Lead Applicant: Professor William Dixon
Conflicts: Professor Elaine Hay, Professor Robbie Foy, Professor Andy Vail, Professor Christopher Armitage and Professor Eileen Kaner
Outcome: Conditional support (phased fund)

Professor Christopher Armitage left the meeting

Personalised Exercise-Rehabilitation FOR people with Multiple long-term conditions (multimorbidity)-The PERFORM trial
Lead Applicant: Professor Sally Singh
Conflicts: Professor Sarah Dean, Mrs Ngawai Moss
Outcome: Conditional support (phased fund)

Professor Sarah Dean, Professor Bhaskar Dasgupta, Dr Anna Durrans and Mrs Debra Dulake left the meeting

OPTimising IMplementation of Ischaemic Stroke Thrombectomy (OptImIST)
Lead Applicant: Dr Christopher Price
Conflicts: Professor Eileen Kaner and Professor Sarah Dean
Outcome: Conditional support (phased fund)

Outcomes table

This table displays the average score for each application that was assessed in the Stage 2 committee meeting. No ranking within columns should be inferred. The PGfAR fundable range is 6-10 although a score of 6-10 does not guarantee funding. In exceptional circumstances and with approval from the Programme Director, applications may be invited/funded which fall below the fundable range.

ScoreNumber of applications
9.1-10 (fundable range)
8.1-9 (fundable range) 2
7.1-8 (fundable range) 1
6.1-7 (fundable range)  1
5.1-6 (below fundable range) 1
4.1-5 (below fundable range) 1
3.1-4 (below fundable range)
2.1-3 (below fundable range)
1.1-2 (below fundable range)
0.1-1 (below fundable range)