This site is optimised for modern browsers. For the best experience, please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.


We welcome your feedback, which will help improve this site.

Feedback form

Programme Grants for Applied Research (PGfAR) Sub-Committee D - Minutes of the PGfAR Competition 30 Stage 2




PGfAR Competition 30 Stage 2 Sub-Committee D

06 March 2020 at ETC Venues, Avonmouth House, 6 Avonmouth Street, London, SE1 6NX


Present Members

Professor Marian Knight (Chair)
Professor Jonathan Mant (Supporting Chair)
Professor Christopher Armitage
Professor Cindy Cooper
Professor Willie Hamilton
Ms Denise Howel
Mr Philip Hurst
Professor Clare Jinks
Dr Steven Lane
Professor Richard Lilford
Professor Martin Orrell
Professor Katherine Payne
Mrs Angela Ruddock
Professor Caroline Sanders
Dr Edward Wilson

Programme Director

Professor Elaine Hay


Mr Rajinder Flora (NIHR CCF)
Ms Fiona Giles (NIHR CCF)
Ms Amrit Mann (NIHR CCF)
Ms Indira Hoti (NIHR CCF)


Professor Wei Gao (King’s College London)
Dr Catriona McDaid (University of York)
Dr Sue Povall (NIHR Research Design Service, North West)


PGfAR applications to be considered

  1. NIHR201608: Both EARS training package (BEARS) to maximise hearing abilities in teenage bilateral cochlear implant users
    Lead Applicant: Dr Deborah Vickers
    Lead Assessors: Richard Lilford (1), Cindy Cooper (2)
    Conflicts: None
    Outcome: Conditional support (phased fund)

  2. NIHR201623: Patient-centred treatment with antipsychotics for psychosis: improving patient experience and engagement by developing and evaluating a complex intervention
    Lead Applicant: Dr Richard Drake
    Lead Assessors: Martin Orrell (1), Willie Hamilton (2)
    Conflicts: Professor Christopher Armitage, Professor Katherine Payne and Professor Caroline Sanders
    Outcome: Reject
    Professor Christopher Armitage, Professor Katherine Payne and Professor Caroline Sanders returned.

  3. NIHR201052: Improving the Management of Abnormal Glucose In Cystic Fibrosis Diabetes: MAGIC Programme
    Lead Applicant: Professor Jackie Sturt
    Lead Assessors: Cindy Cooper (1), Martin Orrell (2)
    Conflicts: Professor Wei Gao and Professor Richard Lilford
    Outcome: Reject
    Professor Wei Gao and Professor Richard Lilford returned.

    Ms Denise Howel and Professor Martin Orrell left the meeting.

  4. NIHR201137: DELAY NOW: implementation package targeting DELAYed NO and immediate antibiotic prescription with Web- based support.
    Lead Applicant: Professor Paul Little
    Lead Assessors: Willie Hamilton (1), Richard Lilford (2)
    Conflicts: Professor Martin Orrell
    Outcome: Reject

Outcomes table

This table displays the average score for each application that was assessed in the Stage 2 committee meeting. No ranking within columns should be inferred. The PGfAR fundable range is 6-10 although a score of 6-10 does not guarantee funding. In exceptional circumstances and with approval from the Programme Director, applications may be invited/funded which fall below the fundable range. 



Fundable Range

Rejected Range












Stage 2