This site is optimised for modern browsers. For the best experience, please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

Programme Grants for Applied Research - Subcommittee B


NIHR Programme Grants for Applied Research has four subcommittees that assess Stage 2 applications.

Subcommittee B membership

Professor Jonathan Mant is Chair of Subcommittee B 

Professor Jonathan Mant

Chair of NIHR Programme Grants for Applied Research subcommittee B

Professor of Primary Care Research and Head of the Primary Care Unit 

University of Cambridge Primary Care Research
Professor Christopher Armitage Chair in Health Psychology University of Manchester Behavioural
Professor Garry Barton Reader in Health Economics University of East Anglia Norwich Medical School Health economist
Professor Sarah Dean Professor of Psychology Applied to Rehabilitation and Health   University of Essex Medical School   Qualitative and Behavioural  
Professor Vari Drennan  Professor of Health Care and Policy Research Kingston University & St. George's University of London General Applied Research
Professor Wei Gao Professor of Statistics and Epidemiology King's College London Statistician
Professor Laura Gray  Professor of Medical Statistics  University of Leicester Statistician 
Dr Catherine Haighton  Associate Professor  Northumbria University  Behavioural
Mr Philip Hurst Public Member   PPI
Dr Clare Jinks Reader in Applied Health Research Keele University Qualitative Methodologist
Dr Belinda Lennox HEFCCE Clinical Senior Lecturer University of Oxford  General Applied Research
Ms Rita Long Public Member   PPI
Professor Paula Lorgelly Professor of Health Economics University College London Health Economics
Professor Richard Martin  Professor Clinical Epidemiology University of Bristol General Applied Research
Dr Catriona McDaid Reader University of York General Applied Research
Professor Gavin Murphy Professor of Cardiac Surgery  University of Leicester  General Applied Research
Professor George Peat Professor of Clinical Epidemiology Keele University General Applied Research
Professor Mario Portillo Professor of Long Term Conditions within Health Sciences University of Southampton General Applied Research
Mrs Angela Ruddock Public Member    PPI
Dr Miriam Santer Associate Professor in Primary Care Research  University of Southampton General Applied Research
Professor Simon Skene Professor of Medical Statistics and Director of Surrey Clinical Trials Unit  University of Surrey Statistician
Professor Jackie Sturt Professor of behavioural Medicine in Nursing King's College London Behavioural
Professor Carolyn Tarrant Professor of Health Services Research University of Leicester Qualitative Methodologist
Professor Sandy Tubeuf Professor in Health Economics Universite' Catholique de Louvain (UCL) Health Economist
Dr Obioha Ukoumunne Associate Professor in Medical Statistics University of Exeter Statistician
Professor Andy Vail Professor of Clinical Biostatistics University of Manchester Statistician