This site is optimised for modern browsers. For the best experience, please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

Programme Grants for Applied Research - Subcommittee B


NIHR Programme Grants for Applied Research has two subcommittees that assess Stage 2 applications.

Subcommittee B Chairs 

Professor Kate Jolly and Professor Simon Heller are the Co-Chairs of PGfAR subcommittee B.

Subcommittee B membership


  • Belinda Lennox
  • Richard Martin
  • Gavin Murphy
  • Vari Drennan
  • Catriona McDaid
  • George Peat
  • Miriam Santer 
  • Mari Portillo
  • Tim Coleman
  • Kate O'Donnell
  • G J Melendez-Torres


  • Rita Long
  • Philip Hurst
  • Angela Ruddock
  • Stephen Habgood


  • Laura Gray
  • Obioha Ukomunme 
  • Simon Skene
  • Wei Gao

Health economists

  • Gary Barton 
  • Sandy Tubeuf 
  • Paula Lorgelly

Qualitative and behavioural experts

  • Jackie Sturt
  • Carolyn Tarrant
  • Christopher Armitage
  • Clare Jinks
  • Sarah Dean