This site is optimised for modern browsers. For the best experience, please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

Programme Grants for Applied Research - Subcommittee D


NIHR Programme Grants for Applied Research has four subcommittees that assess Stage 2 applications.

Subcommittee D chair

Professor Simon Heller is chair of subcommittee D.

Subcommittee D membership


Professor Christopher Armitage Chair in Health Psychology University of Manchester Behavioural
Professor Wei Gao Professor of Statistics and Epidemiology King's College London Statistician
Professor Willie Hamilton Professor of Primary Care Diagnostics University of Exeter General Applied Research
Mr Philip Hurst Public Member   PPI
Dr Clare Jinks Reader in Applied Health Research Keele University Qualitative Methodologist
Dr Steven Lane Lecturer in Medical Statistics University of Liverpool Statistician
Professor Gregory Lip Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine University of Liverpool General Applied Research
Professor Paula Lorgelly Professor of Health Economics University College London Health Economics
Dr Catriona McDaid Reader University of York General Applied Research
Professor Mario Portillo Professor of Long Term Conditions within Health Sciences University of Southampton General Applied Research
Professor Katherine Payne Professor of Health Economics University of Manchester Health Economist
Mrs Angela Ruddock Public Member    PPI
Professor Simon Skene Professor of Medical Statistics and Director of Surrey Clinical Trials Unit  University of Surrey Statistician