This site is optimised for modern browsers. For the best experience, please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

Rapid Response Panel Members







Professor David Heymann CBE

Professor of Infectious Disease Epidemiology, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine






Professor Nishi Chaturvedi

Professor of Clinical Epidemiology, MRC Unit for Lifelong Health & Ageing, University College London

Professor David Crossman

Chief Scientist Health Scottish Government, Dean of Faculty of Medicine, University of St Andrews

Mr Steve Edgar

Patient and Public Representative

Professor Andrew Hayward

Professor of Infectious Disease Epidemiology and Inclusion Health Research, University College London

Professor Paul Kaye

Professor of Immunology, Hull York Medical School, University of York

Professor Kamlesh Khunti

Professor of Primary Care Diabetes & Vascular Medicine, University of Leicester

Professor Martin Knapp

NIHR School for Social Care Research (SSCR) Director and Professor of Health and Care Policy, London School of Economics and Political Science

Professor Nick Lemoine

Director, CRUK Barts Centre; Medical Director, NIHR Clinical Research Network, Queen Mary University of London

Professor Ronan Lyons

Clinical Professor of Public Health, University of Swansea

Professor Danny McAuley

Professor of Intensive Care Medicine, Queen’s University of Belfast

Professor Graham Medley

Professor of Infectious Disease Modelling, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Professor Massimo Palmarini

Director of the MRC-University of Glasgow Centre for Virus Research

Professor Gavin Perkins

Director of Warwick Clinical Trials Unit and Professor of Critical Care Medicine, University of Warwick

Professor Andrew Pollard

Professor of Paediatric Infection and Immunity, University of Oxford

Professor Eleanor Riley

Professor of Immunology and Infectious Disease, University of Edinburgh

Professor Jo Rycroft-Malone

NIHR Health Services and Delivery Research (HS&DR) Programme Director and Professor, Dean of the Faculty of Health and Medicine, University of Lancaster

Professor Richard Smith

Deputy Pro-Vice Chancellor and Professor of Health Economics, University of Exeter

Professor Tom Solomon

Chair of Neurology and Director of the NIHR Health Protection Research Unit in Emerging and Zoonotic Infections, University of Liverpool

Professor Sir Simon Wessely

Professor of Psychological Medicine, King's College London

Ms Catherine White

Patient and Public Representative

Professor Hywel Williams

NIHR Health Technology Assessment (HTA) Programme Director and Professor of Dermato-Epidemiology & Co-Director of the Centre of Evidence Based Dermatology, Faculty of Medicine & Health Sciences, University of Nottingham

Professor Sue Ziebland

NIHR Research for Patient Benefit (RfPB) Programme Director and Professor of Medical Sociology, University of Oxford