This site is optimised for modern browsers. For the best experience, please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.


We welcome your feedback, which will help improve this site.

Feedback form

SR Programme Advisory Group members




Systematic Reviews Programme Advisory Group (SRPAG)

The SRPAG meets a maximum of twice a year for the purpose of advising the Programme Director on policy associated with the provision of support for the completion of systematic reviews, evidence synthesis and the future development for the NIHR-funded entities.

Current funded entities include: Cochrane UK, the Cochrane Review Groups. The SRPAG also seeks to ensure all programmes of work are of scientific quality, relevant to the National Health Service and show value for money through the management of annual reporting and monitoring.


Current members


Full Name


Job title and institution

Professor Ken Stein

Director, NETS Programmes Located at University of Exeter


Dr Phil Alderson

Clinical Advisor, National Institute of Health and Care Excellence

NICE Representative

Ms Sally Bailey

NETSCC, University of Southampton

NETSCC SRP/TAR Representative

Dr Andrew Booth

School of Health and Related Research (ScHARR) University of Sheffield

Academic Advisor

Dr Helen Bulbeck

Director of Services and Policy, brainstrust - the brain cancer people

Consumer/Patient Representative

Professor Martin Burton

Director,The UK Cochrane Centre

UK Cochrane Centre

Dr Rachel Churchill

Cochrane Common Mental Disorders Group, Centre for Reviews and Dissemination, University of York, Heslington, York, YO10 5DD

CRG Representative

Ms Tara Lamont

Acting Director, NIHR Dissemination Centre

NIHR Dissemination Centre Representative

Professor Jo Lord

SHTAC, University of Southampton

Academic Advisor

Dr Matthew Ridd

Centre of Academic Primary Care, University of Bristol

NHS representative

Dr Karla Soares-Weiser

Cochrane Editorial Unit, London

Editor in Chief, The Cochrane Library

Dr Vivian Welch

Campbell Collaboration

Editor in Chief, Campbell Collaboration

Professor Oliva Wu

University of Glasgow

NIHR CRSU Representative


 Previous members


Full Name


Job title and institution

Professor Tom Walley CBE


Director, NETS Programmes

Dr Peter Brindle

NHS Representative

Research and Development Programme Director NHS Bristol

Ms Sally Crowe

Consumer/Patient Representative

Director Crowe Associates and member of Cochrane Consumer Network

Professor Jon Deeks

Director, Medical Statistics Group/Diagnostic Research Group, University of Birmingham

Diagnostic Test Accuracy Support Unit

Dr Michael Lunn

Centre for Neuromuscular Disease, The National Hospital for Neurology & Neurosurgery

Cochrane Review Group representative

Professor Barney Reeves

Academic Advisor

Professorial Research Fellow in Health Services Research Clinical Trials & Evaluation Unit, University of Bristol

Professor Andrew Stevens

Public Health, Epidemiology & Biostatistics, University of Birmingham

Academic Advisor

Dr David Tovey

Cochrane Editorial Unit, London

Editor in Chief, The Cochrane Library