Internet Explorer is no longer supported by Microsoft. To browse the NIHR site please use a modern, secure browser like Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

Urgent Public Health group members


27 April 2020


3.0 - 28 September 2020


The Urgent Public Health Group is chaired by Prof Nick Lemoine, Medical Director of NIHR's Clinical Research Network. It has over 50 members, including patient representatives and healthcare professionals from across the four nations in the fields of Infectious Diseases, Respiratory Emergency Medicine, Critical Care, Ageing, Children, Maternity and Childbirth, Rheumatology, Cardiovascular, Primary  Care and Public Health. The Group also includes diagnostics, methodology and statistics experts and is supported by research delivery specialists.

Subject matter experts are invited to join UPH Group meetings as required to provide expert opinions to aid the Group's decision-making. Methodology reviews are undertaken by a group of experienced methodologists and statisticians supported by Cancer Research UK and are led by UPH Group members Judith Bliss and Julia Brown.


Professor Nick Lemoine - Director CRUK Barts Centre, Medical Director NIHR Clinical Research Network, Queen Mary University of London

Deputy Chair

Professor Phil Evans - Associate Professor of General Practice and Primary Care, and GP, University of Exeter


  • Dr Joy Allen - NIHR MIC Senior Clinical Test Evaluation Methodologist, Newcastle University
  • Professor Judith Bliss - Professor of Clinical Trials and Director of Cancer Research UK funded Clinical Trials & Statistics Unit (ICR-CTSU), The Institute of Cancer Research, London
  • Dr Richard Body - Consultant in Emergency Medicine, Manchester Royal Infirmary
  • Professor Judy Bradley - Director of Wellcome Trust-Wolfson Northern Ireland Clinical Research Facility, Queen’s University, Belfast
  • Professor Julia Brown - Professor of Clinical Trials Research and Director of the UKCRC Registered Clinical Trials Unit Network, Leeds University
  • Dr Andrew Carson-Stevens - Clinical Reader of Patient Safety and Quality Improvement, Cardiff University
  • Professor Paul Dark - Professor of Critical Care Medicine and Research Professor of Humanitarian and Conflict Response. Honorary NHS Consultant, University of Manchester
  • Dr Angharad Davies - Clinical Associate Professor in Microbiology, Swansea University
  • Professor Paul Dimitri - Professor of Child Health, Consultant in Paediatric Endocrinology and Director of Research & Innovation, Sheffield Children’s NHS Foundation Trust
  • Professor Ratko Djukanovic - Professor of Medicine, Director of the Southampton NIHR Respiratory Biomedical Research Unit, Director of the NIHR Southampton Centre for Biomedical Research, University of Southampton
  • Ruth Dundas - Senior Research Fellow Social & Public Health Sciences, University of Glasgow
  • Professor Saul Faust - Professor of Paediatric Immunology and Infectious Diseases within Medicine, University of Southampton
  • Dr Simon Fletcher - Consultant in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care, Norfolk and Norwich University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Professor Stephen Gillespie - Professor of Microbiology and Honorary Consultant Microbiologist, University of St Andrews
  • Dr Mike Gillies - Honorary Clinical Reader, Consultant in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Pain Medicine and Associate Medical Director, University of Edinburgh
  • Professor Sion Glyn-Jones - Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery and Honorary Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon, Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology
  • Professor Anthony (Tony) Gordon - Consultant in Intensive Care Medicine, St Mary's Hospital, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust
  • Gail Hayward - Deputy Director NIHR Community Healthcare MedTech and IVD Cooperative, University of Oxford
  • Professor Adam Hill - Consultant Physician and Honorary Professor, University of Edinburgh
  • Dr Antonia Ho - Clinical Senior Lecturer / Consultant in Infectious Diseases, University of Glasgow
  • Professor Ling Pei- Ho - Associate Professor Respiratory Immunology, University of Oxford
  • Prof William Hope - Dame Sally Davies Chair of AMR Research at the University of Liverpool
  • Dr Susan Hopkins - Healthcare Epidemiologist Consultant in Infectious Diseases and Microbiology, Public Health England
  • Dr John Hurst - Reader and Consultant in Respiratory Medicine, The Royal Free NHS Trust
  • Professor Geraldine Macdonald - Professor of Social Work, University of Bristol
  • Dr Kirsten Mackay - Consultant Rheumatologist, Torbay and South Devon NHS Foundation Trust
  • Professor Danny McAuley - Professor of Intensive Care Medicine, Queen's University of Belfast
  • Dr Peter McGuigan - Consultant in Intensive Care Medicine, Belfast Health & Social Care Trust
  • Dr Jane Minton - Consultant in Infectious Diseases, Honorary Associate Clinical Professor, St James's University Hospital and University of Leeds
  • Dr Matt Morgan - Consultant in Intensive Care Medicine, University Hospital of Wales
  • Dr Katie Morris - Consultant Maternal Fetal Medicine, University of Birmingham
  • Professor Gavin Perkins - Professor of Critical Care Medicine, University of Warwick
  • Malcolm Qualie - Pharmacy Lead, NHS England
  • Dr Najib Rahman - Consultant and Senior Lecturer in Respiratory Medicine, University of Oxford
  • Dr Simon Royal - General Practitioner, The University of Nottingham Health Service
  • Dr Dinesh Saralaya - Consultant Respiratory Physician, Bradford Teaching Hospitals
  • Professor John Simpson - Director NIHR Newcastle In Vitro Diagnostics Co-operative, Professor of Respiratory Medicine, Honorary Consultant Chest Physician, Newcastle University and Newcastle Hospitals
  • Mr Nigel Simpson - Consultant Obstetrician and Gynaecologist, Leeds Teaching Hospital NHS Trust
  • Professor Tony de Soyza - Professor of Pulmonary Medicine and Honorary Consultant Respiratory Physician, Newcastle University and Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals Trust
  • Dr Andy Ustianowski - Consultant in Infectious Diseases & Tropical Medicine, Principle Research Lead, Deputy Clinical Director & Infection Lead (GM CRN), NIHR Hon Senior Lecturer, University of Manchester and North Manchester General Hospital
  • Professor Tim Walsh - Professor of Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Pain Medicine and lead for the Edinburgh Critical Care Research Group, The University of Edinburgh
  • Dr Jane West - Fellow of the Faculty of Public Health and a registered practitioner with the UKPHR
  • Professor Miles Witham - Professor of Trials for Older People, Newcastle University

Patient and public contributors

  • Ruby Bhatti OBE
  • Joyce Fox
  • Tess McManus
  • Dianna Moylan
  • Karen Rockell
  • Nicola Whitehill