Public Health Research

In this section you can read more on the people involved with the assessment of applications for the NIHR Public Health Research (PHR) Programme, read the minutes of previous funding decisions and obtain more information on becoming a reviewer or a becoming a Committee member. 

The NIHR Public Health Research (PHR) Programme has two boards of experts who play an important role in assessing our stage 1 and stage 2 proposals and identifying topics for research. The PHR Prioritisation Committee advises on the identification and prioritisation of research topics and stage 1 proposals based on public health importance. Those successful applicants are assessed by the PHR Funding Committee based on their scientific quality, feasibility, and value for money.

Members of Public Health Research (PHR) Prioritisation Committees are required to declare any interests which conflict, or may be considered to conflict, with PHR programme business, or may be perceived as influencing decisions made in the course of their work within the PHR programme in line with the Conflicts of Interest Policy. All members are asked to complete the Register of Interest form (annually), which is intended to capture long term predictable interests that could be perceived to lead to conflicts of interest. These and other interests are judged on a case by case basis at individual meetings. View the Register of Interests for each Public Health Research (PHR) programme committee. 

Our director

Martin WhiteProfessor Martin White

Professor Martin White is Programme Leader in the UKCRC Centre for Diet & Activity Research (CEDAR) in the MRC Epidemiology Unit & at the University of Cambridge. He holds a visiting chair at Newcastle University.

His other roles include co-investigator in the Department of Health’s Public Health Research Consortium (PHRC) and in the NIHR School for Public Health Research. He is a member of the MRC's Population Health Sciences Group and Public Health Intervention Development (PHIND) research funding panel. He is President-elect of the UK Society for Behavioural Medicine (UKSBM).

Our Chair

Frank KeeProfessor Frank Kee

Professor Kee is Director of the UKCRC Centre of Excellence for Public Health Research Northern Ireland and Deputy Director for the Centre for Public Health in Queens University. The research scope of the Centre of Excellence embraces determinants of public health from molecules to populations, as well as public health interventions.

He has served on several peer review grant committees, including the MRC Population and Systems Medicine Board, the MRC Public Health Intervention Development (PHIND) funding panel and the NPRI Scientific Advisory Committee. He currently sits on the Advisory Board of the Scottish Collaboration for Public Health Research and Policy. He previously served on the Public Health Topic Selection panel for NICE, and as Chair of the NIHR Public Health Speciality Group.

PHR Prioritisation Committee 

Programme DirectorOrganisation
Professor Martin White Programme Leader, MRC Epidemiology Unit & UKCRC Centre for Diet & Activity Research (CEDAR), University of Cambridge
Dr Julie Bishop Director of Health Improvement, Public Health Wales NHS Trust
Mr Brendan Bonner Assistant Director Health and Social Wellbeing Improvement, Public Health Agency Northern Ireland
Dr Simon Ellis Associate Director, Centre for Public Health
Professor Kevin Fenton  Director of Health & Wellbeing, Southwark Council 
Dr Felix Greaves Deputy Director of Science and Strategic Information, Public Health England
Mr Richard Hindley  Public Board member
Mr Philip Insall Director, Insall & Coe
Dr Jeyanthi John Consultant in Dental Public Health (Wessex), Public Health England 
Mrs Rachel Johns Deputy Director - Service Delivery (North Region), Public Health England
Mr Scott Lloyd Advanced Public Health Practitioner, Public Health South Tees
Mr Jason Lowther Director of Strategy, Birmingham City Council
Ms Dorothy May Public Board member 
Mr Darren Mepham Chief Executive, Bridgend County Borough Council 
Professor Eugene Milne Director of Public Health, Newcastle City Council
Professor Jane Moore Director of Strategy, Planning and Performance,  Staffordshire CCGs
Dr Kelechi Nnoaham Executive Director of Public Health, Cwm Taf Health Board 
Professor Mark Pietroni Director for Safety and Medical Director, Gloucestershire Hospitals NHS FT
Professor Harry Rutter Professor in Global Public Health, The University of Bath
Mrs Angela Scott  Chief Executive, Aberdeen City Council 
Ms Bridget Strong  Network Quality Manager, MIND
Dr Jo Whaley Public Engagement Manager for Learning Disability, NHS England

PHR Funding Committee

Programme DirectorOrganisation
Professor Martin White Programme Leader, MRC Epidemiology Unit & UKCRC Centre for Diet & Activity Research (CEDAR), University of Cambridge
Programme ChairOrganisation
Professor Frank Kee Professor of Clinical Epidemiology, UKCRC Centre of Excellence for Public Health (NI) Queen’s University Belfast
Professor Peymane Adab Professor of Public Health, University of Birmingham
Dr Lorna Aucott Senior Lecturer, University of Aberdeen
Dr Suzanne Audrey Senior Research Fellow, University of Bristol
Professor Linda Bauld  Professor of Health Policy and Dean of Research, University of Stirling 
Professor Christopher Bonell Professor of Public Health Sociology, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
Professor Rona Campbell Professor of Public Health Research, University of Bristol 
Dr Charlotte Clark Acoustics Associate, ARUP
Dr Matthew Eagan Associate Professor,  London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
Professor Julia Fox-Rushby Professor of Health Economics,  Brunel University
Professor David French Professor of Health Psychology, University of Manchester
Dr Felix Greaves Deputy Director, Science and Strategic Information, Public Health England
Mr David Green Public Member
Professor Judith Green Professor of Sociology of Health, King’s College London
Professor Russell Jago Professor of Paediatric Physical Activity & Public Health, University of Bristol
Professor Andy Jones Professor of Public Health, University of East Anglia
Mr Allen Knight Public Member
Dr Emma McIntosh  Reader in Health Economics of Public Health, University of Glasgow
Professor Petra Meier Professor of Public Health, University of Sheffield
Professor Paul Montgomery Professor of Social Intervention, University of Birmingham
Dr Graham Moore  Senior Lecturer in Social Sciences and Health, Cardiff University 
Professor Christopher Owen  Reader in Epidemiology, St George’s University of London
Professor Toby Prevost Professor of Medical Statistics, King’s College London
Professor Sarah Rodgers Professor of Health Informatics, University of Liverpool
Professor Falko Sniehotta Professor of Behavioural Medicine and Health Psychology, Newcastle University
Professor Amanda Sowden Deputy Director, Centre for Reviews & Dissemination, University of York



Our community of reviewers play a vital part in maintaining and improving the quality of the PHR Programme projects and outputs. They are sought from a variety of fields, including from those who work in and use NHS services. 

To demonstrate our gratitude to our reviewers and acknowledge the important work they do for the programme the names of past year’s reviewers are listed on our website. Please click the link below to access the list:

View a list of PHR 2018 reviewers.