MedTech and In Vitro Diagnostic Co-operatives

Following an open competition, leading NHS organisations have been awarded funding to host NIHR Medtech and In vitro diagnostic Co-operatives (MICs). Over £14 million has been awarded across 11 NIHR MICs:

  • NIHR London In Vitro Diagnostics Co-operative (NIHR London IVD Co-operative)
  • NIHR Leeds In Vitro Diagnostics Co-operative (NIHR Leeds IVD Co-operative)
  • NIHR Newcastle In Vitro Diagnostics Co-operative (NIHR Newcastle IVD Co-operative) 
  • NIHR Surgical MedTech Co-operative
  • NIHR Brain Injury MedTech Co-operative
  • NIHR Cardiovascular MedTech Co-operative
  • NIHR Devices for Dignity MedTech Co-operative (NIHR D4D MedTech Co-operative) 
  • NIHR Mental Health MedTech Co-operative (NIHR MindTech MedTech Co-operative)
  • NIHR Trauma Management MedTech Co-operative (NIHR Trauma MedTech Co-operative)
  • NIHR Children and Young People MedTech Co-operative (NIHR CYP MedTech Co-operative)
  • NIHR Community Healthcare MedTech and In Vitro Diagnostics Co-operative (NIHR Community Healthcare MedTech and IVD Co-operative)

The NIHR MICs will build expertise and capacity in the NHS to develop new medical technologies and provide evidence on commercially-supplied in vitro diagnostic (IVD) tests. Funding will be provided over five years for leading NHS organisations to act as centres of expertise; bringing together patients, clinicians, researchers, commissioners and industry.

The NIHR MICs with launch 1 January 2018 replacing the NIHR Healthcare Technology Co-operatives and NIHR Diagnostic Evidence Co-operatives, incorporating and retaining the remits of both.