This site is optimised for modern browsers. For the best experience, please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.


We welcome your feedback, which will help improve this site.

Feedback form

Musculoskeletal trauma research leaders commended


The winners of this year’s Orthopaedic Trauma Society (OTS) and National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) awards were announced at the 8th NIHR and OTS Musculoskeletal Trauma Trials Annual Meeting in Newcastle on 15 January.

The awards set out to recognise those Principal Investigators (PIs) and trainee PIs that go above and beyond other investigators to ensure research is embedded into clinical practice.  There was a strong field of candidates for these awards this year, all of which are nominated by their colleagues.

Congratulations to Dr Krushroo Suraliwala, Southport and Ormskirk NHS Trust who won the Principal Investigator of the Year award and Dr Imran Ullah, also from Southport and Ormskirk NHS Trust who won the Trainee Principal Investigator of the Year award.

Dr Ullah said of his win,
“I am delighted to receive this national award. Winning this award whilst working in district general hospital is a big achievement for me and the Southport and Ormskirk hospital. Hopefully, it will open new doors for me and the hospital.”
Professor Matt Costa, National Specialty Lead for the CRN Trauma and Emergency Care Specialty, said,

“These awards are a fantastic way of recognising the excellent work being undertaken in musculoskeletal trauma research across the UK. Particularly, because the candidates are nominated by their colleagues, really highlighting the appreciation of efforts and value the winners have in raising the profile of musculoskeletal trauma research.”