This site is optimised for modern browsers. For the best experience, please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.


We welcome your feedback, which will help improve this site.

Feedback form

New National Specialty Leads for Infection


Dr Andrew Ustianowski and Professor William Hope have been appointed as joint National Specialty Leads for Infection for the NIHR Clinical Research Network.

Professor Hope is the Director for the Centre of Excellence in Infectious Diseases Research at the University of Liverpool and Dame Sally Davies Chair of Antimicrobial Resistance (AMR) Research. 

Dr Ustianowski is Consultant in infectious diseases and tropical medicine at North Manchester General Hospital and the Deputy Clinical Director in Greater Manchester Clinical Research Network (CRN). Previous to this new position,  Dr Ustianowski was the  CRN Infection Industry Lead and Greater Manchester CRN Specialty Lead. 

Dr Ustianowski and Professor Hope take up their roles from 1 May 2020 when Dr Jane Minton retires from the role.

The Clinical Research Network congratulates Dr Ustianowski and Professor Hope on their appointments and thanks Dr Minton for her leadership during her tenure in the role.