This site is optimised for modern browsers. For the best experience, please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.


We welcome your feedback, which will help improve this site.

Feedback form

NHS consultant and trainee prize winners commended


The NIHR Clinical Research Network (NIHR CRN) and Royal College of Physicians (the College) run an award in partnership to recognise outstanding contributions of NHS consultants and trainees who are active in research. The nominations have now been reviewed and the NIHR is delighted to announce the winners as follows:

The winners are:

Amit Arora - Consultant Physician and Geriatrician, NIHR CRN Lead - West Midlands (Ageing Specialty) and Honorary Clinical Lecturer
Sophie West - Respiratory Medicine Consultant Physician, Newcastle upon Tyne NHS Foundation Trust
Sree Subramanian - Consultant Gastroenterologist, Honorary Senior Lecturer and North West Coast Gastroenterology CRN Specialty Lead
Amit Patel - Consultant/Programme Director, Stem Cell Transplantation and Cellular Therapy
Dinesh Saralaya - Consultant Respiratory Physician and Associate Director for Research, Bradford Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust.
Jonathan Segal - Gastroenterology Registrar (st5, London Northwest University Healthcare
Nicholas Lane - Respiratory Registrar and Research Fellow, Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust
Emily Heiden - Clinical Research Fellow, Portsmouth Hospitals NHS Trust
Jonathan Bird - Clinical Research Fellow, Poole NHS Foundation Trust
Naaventhan Palaniyappan - Specialist Registrar in Gastroenterology, Nottingham Hospitals NHS Trust.
Applicants were required to outline their contribution to the leadership of several NIHR Clinical Research Network Portfolio studies with a particular focus on:

  • how they demonstrate clinical leadership enabling their organisation to increase its participation in clinical studies
  • how they engaged with patients to inform them of new opportunities to participate in clinical research
  • their contribution to successful delivery of clinical research studies, with a particular emphasis on industry (commercial contract) studies.

On the award winners, Royal College of Physicians academic vice president, Professor Cheng-Hock Toh said:

“The RCP is proud to celebrate physicians who excel in clinical research alongside their busy NHS jobs. I salute you for setting such high standards as role models in delivering research for all.”

Since its inception in 2006, the NIHR has significantly increased the scale of clinical research in the NHS, particularly through the NIHR Clinical Research Network. The enthusiastic engagement of NHS physicians and trainees is essential for sustaining and building on this success, particularly given the many competing demands on clinician time and resources.

Professor Nick Lemoine, Medical Director of the NIHR Clinical Research Network said:

‘Clinical leadership is vital for the world-leading performance of the NIHR Clinical Research Network. Each of the consultants and trainees who are prize winners this year have made outstanding contributions to the delivery of research studies in their region and it is wonderful to see the next generation of researchers coming through.’

As part of the application process the applicants had to set out how they would use the prize money to increase their contribution to NIHR Clinical Research Network Portfolio studies in the future.

Trainee award winners will be invited to attend the Royal College of Physicians’ new members ceremony on 24 September 2019. Consultant award winners will be invited to the Harveian Oration on 16 October 2019.