Internet Explorer is no longer supported by Microsoft. To browse the NIHR site please use a modern, secure browser like Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

Outstanding gastroenterology and hepatology medicine research leaders commended

Published: 05 July 2021

The winners of the very first British Society of Gastroenterology and NIHR Clinical Research Network (BSG/NIHR CRN) research awards have been announced. The standard of applications was so high that an additional Special Recognition award was identified for a researcher making a huge impact building research capacity.

These BSG/NIHR CRN awards provide an important opportunity to further this joint commitment to encouraging research and showcase examples of excellence in the conduct of both gastroenterology and hepatology clinical research.

The winners are:

Category A:  Principal Investigator (PI) or Chief Investigator (CI) making an outstanding contribution in design, conduct and dissemination of research, and/or building research capacity.
Winner:  Colin Rees, Professor of Gastroenterology, Newcastle University

Category B:  Early Career Researcher and those new to research* showing a significant contribution to recruitment into NIHR portfolio studies.
Winner:  Louise China, Senior Clinical Fellow, Hepatology, Royal Free Hospital, London

Category C:  Research Team making an outstanding contribution to the NIHR portfolio studies.
Winner:  Tariq Ahmad, Consultant Gastroenterologist, Royal Devon and Exeter NHS Foundation Trust

Special Recognition award for outstanding contribution in building research capacity
Winner:  Lynsey Corless, Consultant Hepatologist, Hull University Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

Dr Alistair McKinlay, British Society of Gastroenterology President said:

“I am delighted to commend the winners of the very first joint British Society of Gastroenterology and NIHR awards. All of the applications we received were of an exceptionally high standard and it demonstrates the value that each of the winners has added to the field of gastroenterology and hepatology clinical research. Congratulations to the winners, the Society looks forward to building on this success next year.”

Professor Tariq Iqbal, the National Specialty Lead for NIHR CRN Gastroenterology Specialty said:

“It has been a pleasure and privilege to have been part of this first joint award scheme. The four winners in Categories A, B and C and the special awardee Dr Lynsey Corless have set a high bench-mark for those who will follow and their awards reflect outstanding contributions to research in gastroenterology and hepatology.”

Professor William Rosenberg is the National Specialty Lead for NIHR CRN Hepatology Specialty said:

“All three winners in Categories A, B, and C have made outstanding contributions to clinical research and are role models for their peers. The applications in all categories were extremely strong and reflect the excellence of gastroenterology and hepatology research. In addition to the established categories we have made a special award to recognise Dr Lynsey Corless who has done so much for developing future research capacity through her innovation and leadership of the NIHR Clinical Research Training Programme.”

Applicants across the three categories had to demonstrate a range of expertise including leading, designing and developing complex research projects; leading a trial that changed practice; finding new ways to engage with patients and nurturing and developing the early careers of fellow researchers working in their field. 

The awards will be presented at the next BSG Annual conference later in 2021.

Latest news