This site is optimised for modern browsers. For the best experience, please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

Primary care researcher award winners announced


The National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) Clinical Research Network is pleased to announce the winners of the research awards run in partnership with the Royal College of General Practitioners (RCGP). These awards, for members of RCGP, recognise research active NHS GPs and general practices that are demonstrating excellence and innovation in delivering NIHR research.

Dr Elizabeth Morris received the First5® award and Dr Amrit Takhar of Wansford and Kingscliffe Practice in Peterborough received the practice award.

Applicants were required to outline their contribution to NIHR Clinical Research Network Portfolio studies with particular weight being attached to:

  • the range and number of patients in NIHR Clinical Research Network studies;
  • how patients have been engaged and informed of new opportunities to participate in clinical research;
  • their contribution and innovative methods used in the successful delivery of clinical research studies.

The awards were presented by Dr Nicholas Thomas, Clinical Research Specialty Lead for CRN Thames Valley and South Midlands TVSM and Clinical Research Lead at Clinical Innovation and Research, RCGP, Prof Carolyn Chew-Graham Chair of RCGP Research Paper of the Year and Prof Amanda Howe President-Elect of the RCGP.

On the award winners, Dr Nicholas Thomas said:
“Our winners are leading the field by demonstrating how practices can deliver research at scale, as well as, demonstrating how patients and the public can be involved throughout the research pathway is of benefit."
Since its inception in 2006, the NIHR has significantly increased the scale of clinical research in the NHS, particularly through the NIHR Clinical Research Network. The enthusiastic engagement of NHS clinicians is an essential condition for sustaining and building on this success; particularly given the many competing demands on clinician time and resources.

NIHR Clinical Research Network, National Specialty Lead for Primary Care, Professor Philip Evans said:

"This is now the fourth year of our very successful RCGP NIHR Research Awards have taken place, and once again the winners have demonstrated remarkable innovation and delivery of primary care research within their practices, which has significantly contributed to CRN recruitment over the years"

As part of the application process the applicants had to set out what activities they planned to carry out in the future to improve research delivery.

The awards were presented last week during the RCGP Annual Conference on 24-26 October in Liverpool.

(Image above left to right: Professor Amanda Howe, Dr Amrit Takhar, Dr Nicholas Thomas, Professor Carolyn Chew-Graham).