NIHR Infrastructure

The NIHR Infrastructure is the research infrastructure that includes centres with a remit to grow the future research workforce in the UK.

The NIHR Infrastructure is made up of:

  • Biomedical Research Centres (BRCs)
  • Collaborations for Leadership in Applied Health Research and Care (CLAHRCs)
  • Patient Safety Translational Research Centres (PSTRCs)

The NIHR Infrastructure supports around 1000 individuals training as health researchers. These trainees include those enrolled in Masters, Doctoral and other formal traineeships.

Two awards support NIHR Infrastructure Academy members:

 

Training Leads

Each of the NIHR Infrastructure organisations has a Training Lead to support training locally. The Training Leads develop local training strategy, act as an active member of the training forum and ensure that trainees are given access to the wider training they need to thrive as a successful academic. The aims of the Training Forum are to:

  • develop and promote excellence in training and capacity development
  • develop bespoke training events, resources and materials
  • provide a platform for sharing best practice and progress in training methods

 

Find your Training Lead

Biomedical Research Centres

Institution
Training Lead
Contact

NIHR BRC Barts Health NHS Trust

Professor Anthony Mathur

a.mathur@qmul.ac.uk

NIHR BRC Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Menna Clatworthy

mrc38@cam.ac.uk

NIHR BRC Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Professor Gillian Wallis

gillian.a.wallis@manchester.ac.uk 

NIHR BRC Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children NHS Foundation Trust

Professor Neil Sebire

neil.sebire@gosh.nhs.uk 

NIHR BRC Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust

Professor Rebecca Oakey and Professor Graham Lord

 Rebecca.Oakey@kcl.ac.uk and graham.lord@kcl.ac.uk  

NIHR BRC Imperial College Healthcare Trust

Professor Waljit Dhillo

w.dhillo@imperial.ac.uk 

NIHR BRC Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

Professor Anne-Maree Keenan

a.keenan@leeds.ac.uk 

NIHR BRC Moorfields Eye Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Professor Phil Luthert

p.luthert@ucl.ac.uk 

NIHR BRC Newcastle Upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Ellen Tullo and Dr Alison Yarnall

Ellen.Tullo@newcastle.ac.uk  
and alison.yarnall@newcastle.ac.uk

NIHR BRC Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust

Dr Gordon Moran

gordon.moran@nottingham.ac.uk

NIHR BRC Oxford Health NHS Foundation Trust

Professor Elizabeth Tunbridge

elizabeth.tunbridge@psych.ox.ac.uk 

NIHR BRC Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Denise Best

denise.best@medsci.ox.ac.uk

NIHR BRC Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Naureen Starling

naureen.starling@rmh.nhs.uk

NIHR BRC Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Professor Oliver Bandmann

o.bandmann@sheffield.ac.uk

NIHR BRC South London and Maudsley NHS Foundation Trust

Professor Richard Brown

richard.g.brown@kcl.ac.uk

NIHR BRC University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Professor Geraint Rees

g.rees@ucl.ac.uk

NIHR BRC University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Phil Newsome

p.n.newsome@bham.ac.uk

NIHR BRC University Hospitals Bristol NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Abigail Fraser and Dr Natalie Blencowe

Abigail.Fraser@bristol.ac.uk and
Natalie.Blencowe@bristol.ac.uk 

NIHR BRC University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust

Dr James King and Dr David Webb

j.a.king@lboro.ac.uk; david.webb@uhl-tr.nhs.uk

NIHR BRC University Hospital Southampton NHS Foundation Trust

Professor Alison Richardson

alison.richardson@soton.ac.uk 

Collaborations for Leadership in Applied Health Research and Care

Institution
Training Lead
Contact

NIHR CLAHRC East of England

Dr Christine Hill

cmh86@medschl.cam.ac.uk 

NIHR CLAHRC East Midlands

Dr Emma Rowley

emma.rowley@nottingham.ac.uk 

NIHR CLAHRC Greater Manchester

Dr Jane Griffiths

jane.griffiths@manchester.ac.uk 

NIHR CLAHRC North Thames

Dr Nora Pashayan

n.pashayan@ucl.ac.uk 

NIHR CLAHRC North West Coast

George Georgiou

GGeorgiou4@uclan.ac.uk

NIHR CLAHRC Oxford

Dr Katherine Tucker

katherine.tucker@phc.ox.ac.uk

NIHR CLAHRC South London

Dr Kirstie Coxon

k.coxon@sgul.kingston.ac.uk

NIHR CLAHRC South West Peninsula

Dr Victoria Goodwin

v.goodwin@exeter.ac.uk 

NIHR CLAHRC West

Professor Selena Gray

selena.gray@uwe.ac.uk 

NIHR CLAHRC West Midlands

Anne-Marie Brennan

 A-M.Brennan@warwick.ac.uk 

NIHR CLAHRC Yorkshire and Humber

Jo Cooke

jo.cooke@sth.nhs.uk 

 

Patient Safety Translational Research Centres

Institution
Training Lead
Contact

NIHR Imperial Patient Safety Translational Research Centre

 Kelsey Flott 

 k.flott14@imperial.ac.uk 

NIHR Greater Manchester Primary Care Patient Safety Translational Research Centre

Dr Gavin Daker-White

gavin.daker-white@manchester.ac.uk 

NIHR Yorkshire and Humber Patient Safety Translational Research Centre

Dr Jane O'Hara

Jane.OHara@bthft.nhs.uk  

 

School for Primary Care Research

Institution
Training Lead
Contact

NIHR School for Primary Care Research

Professor Christian Mallen

c.d.mallen@keele.ac.uk