Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine and Clinical Research Network Awards


Application form

Download the application form here.


Follow the awards on Twitter



To recognise NHS consultants, SAS doctors and trainee doctors who are active in research

Groundbreaking intensive care medicine leaders commended

The National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) Clinical Research Network is delighted to announce the winners of the research awards run in partnership with the Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine (FICM). The awards, for members of the FICM, recognise research active consultants, specialty and associate doctors and trainees that are demonstrating clinical leadership, excellence and innovation in delivering NIHR research.

Dr Matt Wise, Consultant Critical Care, Cardiff and Vale University Health Board won the Established Clinician award and Dr Duncan Chambler, Consultant in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine, Dorset County Hospital NHS Foundation Trust won the Early Career Consultant award.

Applicants were required to outline their contribution to NIHR Clinical Research Network Portfolio studies with particular weight being attached to:

  • demonstration of clinical leadership enabling their organisation to increase its participation in clinical studies
  • how they engaged with patients to inform them of new opportunities to participate in clinical research
  • individual contributions to successful delivery of clinical research studies.

On the award winners, Dean of the Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine, Dr Carl Waldmann said:

"In order to ensure sustainability and future high standards in the intensive care medicine service in the UK, we are dependent on high quality research conducted in this field carried out among others, by our consultants and doctors in training. The Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine is delighted to work with the NIHR to fund these two research awards. Congratulations to Dr Chambler and Dr Wise."

NIHR Clinical Research Network, National Specialty Lead for Critical Care, Professor Paul Dark said:

Once again, we were delighted to receive high-quality applications for the annual joint FICM and NIHR CRN awards. Applicants included early years colleagues and senior consultants competing for awards in these categories, with evidence of growing reach across the breadth of NHS critical care research practice. The range and depth of examples of organizing, leading and innovating clinical research delivery was impressive, providing evidence of real strength and enthusiasm for patient-focused research within the UK intensive care community. We look forward to developing these awards further and we encourage NHS colleagues to consider applying again in 2018."

As part of the application process the applicants had to set out what activities they planned to carry out in the future to improve research delivery.

NIHR Clinical Research Network Specialty Cluster Lead, Professor Stephen Smye said:

“Critical care is a challenging environment for clinical research but the applicants to the joint FICM/NIHR CRN Research Awards described numerous impressive examples of excellent clinical research leadership, with impact extending beyond critical care to the wider clinical research community and NHS. The winning applications confirmed that the critical care research community in the UK is vibrant, ambitious and led by outstanding clinical researchers who are determined to increase patient access to high quality research"

The awards will be presented during the Intensive Care Society State of the Art Meeting on 6 December 2017.

“The high standard of critical care services is made possible by the quality research conducted in the field by, among others, our consultant and trainee doctors. The Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine is delighted to work with the NIHR to fund these two research awards to help recognise such achievements.”

Daniel Waeland
Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine 

Application process and judging of applications

  • Applications should be made using the application form. Any additional information submitted will NOT be considered by the panel.
  • Applicants must include their FICM Membership Number.
  • Applicants should note the word limit for each section of the application form.
  • Completed application forms must be received by midnight on 15 September 2017. Receipt of applications will be acknowledged.
  • Applications will be assessed by a panel made up of FICM, Clinical Research Network and patient representatives.
  • Successful applicants will be notified within one month of the closing date. We expect a high number of applications and are unable to provide feedback to unsuccessful applicants.

Award presentations

The awards will be presented during the Intensive Care Society's State of the Art Meeting on 6 December 2017, award winners must be available to attend the ceremony. The Intensive Care Society will kindly give complimentary entrance to the winners if they are not already registered as delegates.

Winners will also be invited to the State of the Art speaker’s dinner on the evening of 4 December 2017, to meet and dine with the conference faculty as a guest of the Intensive Care Society.

State of the Art is the UK’s main, recently-revamped critical care meeting, and the Intensive Care Society invites you to consider attending the full day or full three day meeting. The programme and other details are available at https://soa.ics.ac.uk/.

“Following the great success of these inaugural prizes, we look forward to developing the awards scheme further in partnership with the FICM and encourage NHS colleagues to consider applying in 2017.”

Professor Paul Dark
NIHR Clinical Research Network
National Specialty Lead for Critical Care and Chair of the Judging Panel

Previous winners


Winners of the first joint Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine (FICM) and Clinical Research Network awards received their honours in December 2016, demonstrating outstanding leadership and excellence in research delivery from NHS consultants and trainees in Intensive Care Medicine.

  • Dr Stephen Wright, at Newcastle University’s Freeman Hospital, won the consultant award.
  • Dr James Plumb, ST6 at University Hospital Southampton NHS Foundation Trust, won the trainee’s prize.

The awards were presented during the Intensive Care Society State of the Art Meeting. Applicants included trainees, junior consultants and established colleagues practicing NHS Intensive Care Medicine throughout the UK. Joanne Ashcroft, NIHR Clinical Research Network Assistant Specialty Cluster Lead and member of the judging panel said:

“The applications we received for these inaugural awards were inspiring to read. They clearly demonstrate the dedication of the Critical Care research workforce. The strong leadership the applicants displayed is vital in helping the specialty to deliver complex studies for patient benefit.”

Professor Stephen Smye, NIHR Clinical Research Network Specialty Cluster Lead and awards panel member said:

“The applicants described some really outstanding examples of excellent clinical research leadership, with impact extending beyond critical care to the wider clinical research community and NHS. Effective clinical research leadership is central to the next 10 years of NIHR as it continues to embed research in the NHS for the benefit of patients.”