Nursing Times Awards

Recognising nurses or teams driving initiatives that contribute to achieving the National Institute for Health Research's strategic priorities


  • The Nursing Times Awards are the most respected and relevant awards in the nursing and healthcare sector and offer much-deserved recognition for the innovative and excellent care that nurses at all levels provide across the UK.
  • The Awards are in their 27th year and represents true excellence in nursing and patient care, bringing together the best of the industry for a glittering evening of recognition, celebration and networking.

Clinical Research Nursing Category

***And the winner of Clinical Research Nursing award 2017 is...  Mid Essex Hospital Services NHS Trust ***

The Clinical Research Nurse role is recognised at the Nursing Times Awards, and nominations were invited for the Clinical Research Nursing category sponsored by the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) Clinical Research Network (CRN) earlier this year. A total of 36 nominations were received for the Clinical Research Nursing category, which has now been shortlisted.

Clinical Research Nurses provide and deliver high quality patient care as well as dealing with data collection, follow-ups, patient groups and industry, but most importantly of all they develop and build multi-disciplinary teams that deliver research.

Shortlisted Healthcare organisations for Clinical Research Nurse nominations are:

  • University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust
  • Mid Essex Hospital Services NHS Trust
  • Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • St George's University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Queen Square Medical Practice
  • Barts Health NHS Trust
  • The Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust
  • London North West Healthcare NHS Trust
  • Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust

Award ceremony

The winners of each of the 22 award categories for the 2017 Nursing Times Awards will be announced at a prestigious award ceremony taking place on 2 November 2017 in London.

Shortlisted organisations will now complete presentations and interviews to a specific judging panel made up of senior and influential figures from the health sector.

View the shortlist of nominations here

Further information about the awards and categories can be found on the Nursing Times Awards website