Royal College of Emergency Medicine awards

Application form

Download the application forms:

Principal Investigator award

Young Investigator award


Follow the awards on Twitter




To recognise NHS consultants and junior doctors who are active in research


One of the principle remits of the Royal College of Emergency Medicine (RCEM) is to advance education and research in Emergency Medicine. The Research and Publications Committee is chaired by Professor Alasdair Gray. Its remit includes research, publications and the administration of academic awards and prizes. The RCEM Clinical Studies Group was formed by the Research and Publications Committee in 2014 and makes annual awards to recognise outstanding contributions of RCEM Members and Fellows to research in Emergency Medicine.

Since its inception in 2006, the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) has significantly increased the scale of clinical research in the NHS, particularly through the Clinical Research Network. The enthusiastic engagement of NHS clinicians is an essential condition for sustaining and building on this success, particularly given the many competing demands on clinician time and resources.

These inaugural joint awards will recognise outstanding contributions of NHS consultants and junior doctors in the conduct of clinical research in the field of Emergency Medicine. The ‘award winners 2017/18’ will be recognised by the award of a plaque and a certificate. The winner(s) of the Young Investigator award will also be eligible for a modest financial award, which must be invested in the award holder’s future research. In addition, up to three applicants for each scheme will be named ‘outstanding contributors 2017/18’. The award winners and outstanding contributors will be asked to present a summary of their contributions to research at the RCEM Clinical Studies Group annual meeting on 16 January 2018. Applicants will be required to confirm that they are available to attend and make a short presentation.


Principal Investigator of the Year

Applicants must be Members or Fellows of the Royal College of Emergency Medicine. The awards are designed to recognise the contribution of research active clinicians rather than those who are already career clinical academics. Therefore, Members and Fellows who hold a substantive academic university appointment or an externally funded academic fellowship will not be eligible for this award.

Young Investigator of the Year

The award is open to both junior doctors who are pursuing a career in Emergency Medicine and consultants in Emergency Medicine who are within five years of obtaining their Certificate of Completion of Training (CCT). For junior doctors who do not currently hold a National Training Number in Emergency Medicine, the panel will look for evidence of commitment to pursuing a career in the specialty.

Criteria for awards

Young Investigator of the Year

The award will be made based on the following criteria:

  • Candidates should show evidence of an interest in becoming active in Emergency Medicine research. A record of achieving peer reviewed publications and a track record of designing and delivering research in Emergency Medicine is desirable but not essential
  • The application must include a proposal for a research project to be undertaken. The candidate must show a clear commitment to completing that research and show evidence that it is feasible and deliverable. Desirable criteria include:
    • evidence of strong mentorship and institutional support
    • a proposal that is relevant to Emergency Medicine
    • the potential for the award to develop the academic career of the individual and to lead on to further funding
    • methodological rigour demonstrated in the written proposal and oral presentation
    • evidence of structured and realistic costings that represent value for money to RCEM.

Awards will be made at the discretion of the judging panel.

Principal Investigator

The award will be made based on the candidate’s contribution to Emergency Medicine research in the United Kingdom over the previous 12 months, including:

  • An outstanding contribution to the design, delivery, conduct and/or dissemination of research
  • An outstanding contribution to building research capacity in the specialty.


  • Applications should be made using the application form
  • Applicants should note the word limit for each section of the application form
  • Please send a completed application form plus your curriculum vitae to Holly Lyons at 
  • Applications must be received by midday on 8 December 2017. Receipt of applications will be acknowledged
  • Applications will be assessed by a panel of representatives from the Royal College of Emergency Medicine, the NIHR Clinical Research Network and lay representatives
  • Successful applicants will be notified by 3 January 2018. We will provide feedback for unsuccessful applicants on request.

For further information, please contact us at