NIHR Training Advocates

NIHR Academic Training Advocates are ambassadors for clinical led research and clinical academic careers. They promote NIHR training and career opportunities, and support clinicians embarking on or developing their own research career.

If you are an aspiring or early career clinical academic, or an organisation developing clinical academic careers, our advocates may be able to advise you.

Find an Advocate

Dietetics and Nutrition

Lead advocate: Professor Gary Frost  - g.frost@imperial.ac.uk

Associate Professor Steve Wootton - saw@soton.ac.uk

Professor Mary Hickson - mary.hickson@plymouth.ac.uk

Dr Linda Wedlake - linda.wedlake@rmh.nhs.uk

Healthcare Science 

Dr Owen Driskell - owen.driskell@nihr.ac.uk 

Dr Jane Freeman- jane.freeman4@nhs.net 

Dr Samantha Irving - s.irving@rbht.nhs.uk

Dr Elaine Cloutman-Green - Elaine.cloutman-green@gosh.nhs.uk

Midwifery

Lead advocate: Professor Jane Sandall  - jane.sandall@kcl.ac.uk

Dr Annette Briley - annette.l.briley@kcl.ac.uk

Dr Kirstie Coxon - K.Coxon@sgul.kingston.ac.uk

Dr Sara Kenyon - s.kenyon@bham.ac.uk

Dr Vikki Smith - vikki.smith@northumbria.ac.uk

Nursing

Lead advocate: Professor Dave Richards  - d.a.richards@exeter.ac.uk

Dr Sarah Bailey  - sarahl.bailey@soton.ac.uk

Professor Caroline Nicholson - c.nicholson@surrey.ac.uk

Professor Caroline Watkins  - clwatkins@uclan.ac.uk

Dr Theresa Wiseman - theresa.wiseman@rmh.nhs.uk

Occupational Therapy 

Lead advocate: Professor Pip Logan  - pip.logan@nottingham.ac.uk

Professor Jo Adams - ja@soton.ac.uk

Dr Sally Fowler-Davis - s.fowler-davis@shu.ac.uk

Dr Christina Jerosch-Herold  - c.jerosch-herold@uea.ac.uk

Dr Niina Kolehmainen - niina.kolehmainen@newcastle.ac.uk

Pharmacy 

Dr David Alldred - d.p.alldred@leeds.ac.uk

Dr Ian Maidment - i.maidment@aston.ac.uk

Physiotherapy

Lead advocate: Professor Nadine Foster  - n.foster@keele.ac.uk

Dr Caroline Alexander  - caroline.alexander@imperial.ac.uk

Professor Anne Forster - a.forster@leeds.ac.uk

Associate Professor Lisa Roberts - l.c.roberts@soton.ac.uk

Professor Sally Singh - sally.singh@uhl-tr.nhs.uk

Psychology Practitioners

Professor Richard Brown - richard.g.brown@kcl.ac.uk

Professor Cathy Creswell - cathy.creswell@psych.ox.ac.uk

Dr Isabel Clare - ichc2@medschl.cam.ac.uk 

Professor Barney Dunn - b.d.dunn@exeter.ac.uk

Podiatry

Lead advocate: Professor Anne-Maree Keenan  - a.keenan@leeds.ac.uk

Dr Lindsey Cherry - l.cherry@soton.ac.uk

Radiography

Dr Carole Burnett - carole.burnett1@nhs.net

Speech and Language Therapy 

Dr Roganie Govender - Roganie.Govender@nhs.net

Dr Jackie McRae - Jackie.mcrae@nhs.net

Professor Jo Patterson - joanne.patterson@liverpool.ac.uk 

For further information

Email: academy@nihr.ac.uk or

Telephone: 0113 532 8444

Related pages

Documents

External links