NIHR Training Advocates

NIHR Academic Training Advocates are ambassadors for clinical led research and clinical academic careers. They promote NIHR training and career opportunities, and support clinicians embarking on or developing their own research career.

If you are an aspiring or early career clinical academic, or an organisation developing clinical academic careers, our advocates may be able to advise you.

Recruiting now!

We are delighted to invite expressions of Interest from experienced clinical academics of the following professions to join our Faculty of NIHR Training Advocates:

  • Speech and Language Therapy
  • Radiography (Diagnostic and Therapeutic)

  • Pharmacy

  • Healthcare Science

  • Audiology

Please visit NIHR Training Advocate Recruitment page for more information and to express Interest.

Find an Advocate

Audiology

Associate Professor Melanie Ferguson - melanie.ferguson@nottingham.ac.uk

Psychology Practitioners

Professor Richard Brown - richard.g.brown@kcl.ac.uk

Professor Cathy Creswell - c.creswell@reading.ac.uk

Dr Isabel Clare - ichc2@medschl.cam.ac.uk

Associate Professor Barney Dunn - b.d.dunn@exeter.ac.uk

Dietetics and Nutrition

Associate Professor Steve Wootton - saw@soton.ac.uk

Professor Gary Frost  - g.frost@imperial.ac.uk

Professor Mary Hickson - mary.hickson@plymouth.ac.uk

Dr Linda Wedlake - linda.wedlake@rmh.nhs.uk

Healthcare Science

Dr Ellen Donovan - e.donovan@surrey.ac.uk

Midwifery

Professor Jane Sandall  - jane.sandall@kcl.ac.uk

Dr Annette Briley - annette.l.briley@kcl.ac.uk

Dr Kirstie Coxon - K.Coxon@sgul.kingston.ac.uk

Dr Sara Kenyon - s.kenyon@bham.ac.uk

Dr Vikki Snaith - vikki.snaith@ncl.ac.uk

Nursing

Professor Dave Richards  - d.a.richards@exeter.ac.uk

Dr Sarah Bailey  - sarahl.bailey@soton.ac.uk

Dr Caroline Nicholson- caroline.nicholson@kcl.ac.uk

Professor Caroline Watkins  - clwatkins@uclan.ac.uk

Dr Theresa Wiseman - theresa.wiseman@rmh.nhs.uk

Occupational Therapy 

Professor Pip Logan  - pip.logan@nottingham.ac.uk

Professor Jo Adams - ja@soton.ac.uk

Dr Sally Fowler-Davis - s.fowler-davis@shu.ac.uk

Dr Christina Jerosch-Herold  - c.jerosch-herold@uea.ac.uk

Dr Niina Kolehmainen - niina.kolehmainen@newcastle.ac.uk

Physiotherapy

Professor Nadine Foster  - n.foster@keele.ac.uk

Dr Caroline Alexander  - caroline.alexander@imperial.ac.uk

Professor Anne Forster - a.forster@leeds.ac.uk

Associate Professor Lisa Roberts - l.c.roberts@soton.ac.uk

Professor Sally Singh - sally.singh@uhl-tr.nhs.uk

Podiatry

Professor Anne-Maree Keenan  - a.keenan@leeds.ac.uk

Dr Lindsey Cherry - l.cherry@soton.ac.uk

For further information

Email: academy@nihr.ac.uk or

Telephone: 0113 532 8444

Related pages

Documents

External links