Internet Explorer is no longer supported by Microsoft. To browse the NIHR site please use a modern, secure browser like Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

NIHR Senior Investigators Committee


Published: 30 September 2021

Version: 4.0 November 2022

Print this document

Membership of the selection committee for Competition 16 (2022) of the NIHR Senior Investigators scheme.

Chair and Supporting Chair

Professor Marion Walker (Chair) Professor of Stroke Rehabilitation University of Nottingham
Professor Sue Ziebland (Co-Chair) Professor of Medical Sociology University of Oxford


Patient Public Involvement and Engagement Committee Members

Dr Anmol Arora Public Member  -
Mr Stephen Edgar Public Member  -
Miss Angela King Public Member  -
Miss Margaret Opoku Public Member  -


Nurse, Midwifery & Allied Health Professional Sub-Committee

Professor Karina Lovell (Sub-Committee Chair) Professor of Mental Health University of Manchester
Professor Dame Nicky Cullum Professor of Nursing University of Manchester
Professor Carrol Gamble Professor of Medical Statistics University of Liverpool
Professor Peter Griffiths Professor of Health Services Research University of Southampton
Professor Matthew Hickman Professor in Public Health and Epidemiology University of Bristol
Professor Steven Julious Professor of Medical Statistics University of Sheffield
Professor Anne-Maree Keenan Pro-Dean for Translational Research for the Faculty of Medicine and Health University of Leeds
Professor Glyn Lewis Professor of Epidemiological Psychiatry University College London
Professor Jane Nixon Institute Director University of Leeds
Professor Catherine Sackley Professor of Physiotherapy Research University of Nottingham
Professor Jane Sandall Professor of Social Science and Women’s Health King’s College London


Social Care Sub-Committee

Professor Jill Manthorpe (Sub-Committee Chair) Professor of Social Work King’s College London
Professor Claire Bambra Professor of Public Health Newcastle University
Professor Claire Goodman Professor of Health Care Research, Centre for Research in Public Health and Community Care University of Hertfordshire
Professor Martin Knapp Professor of Health and Social Care Policy London School of Economics and Political Science
Professor Catherine Pope Professor of Medical Sociology, Nuffield Department of Primary Care Health Sciences University of Oxford
Professor Jonathan Scourfield Professor of Social Work Cardiff University


Medical Sub-Committee

Professor Jadwiga Wedzicha (Sub-Committee Chair) Professor of Respiratory Medicine Imperial College London
Professor Ibrahim Abubakar (Sub-Committee Co-Chair) Dean, UCL Faculty of Population Health Sciences University College London
Professor Jane Blazeby Professor of Surgery University of Bristol
Professor Ashley Blom Vice President and Head of the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health University of Sheffield
Professor Carol Brayne Co-Director of Cambridge Public Health and Professor of Public Health Medicine University of Cambridge
Professor Melanie Davies Professor of Diabetes Medicine University of Leicester
Professor Dion Morton Barling Professor of Surgery and Head of the Academic Surgery University of Birmingham
Professor Paul Emery Versus Arthritis UK Professor of Rheumatology University of Leeds
Professor Saul Faust Professor of Paediatric Immunology & Infectious Diseases University of Southampton
Professor Fang Gao Professor in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Pain University of Birmingham
Professor Keith Godfrey Professor of Epidemiology & Human Development at the MRC Lifecourse Epidemiology Centre University of Southampton
Professor David E Neal Professor Emeritus of Surgical Oncology University of Cambridge and University of Oxford
Professor Sir Munir Pirmohamed David Weatherall Chair of Medicine and NHS Chair of Pharmacogenetics University of Liverpool
Professor Dame Pamela Shaw Professor of Neurology University of Sheffield
Professor Richard G Watt Professor and Honorary Consultant of Dental Public Health University College London
Professor Olivia Wu Director of Health Economics and Health Technology Assessment (HEHTA) Research Group University of Glasgow