Internet Explorer is no longer supported by Microsoft. To browse the NIHR site please use a modern, secure browser like Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

Invention for Innovation - Challenge Awards Committee


Published: 08 July 2019

Version: 3.0 - November 2023

Print this document

The funding committees for the NIHR Invention for Innovation (i4i) Programme are multidisciplinary, comprising academic, clinical and commercial experts, as well as patient and public members. i4i has five committees: three for Product Development Awards (committee A, committee B and committee C), one for Challenge Awards, and one for Connect.

Committee members - Challenge Awards

Professor Nick Lemoine (Chair) Director Barts Cancer Institute Professor Lemoine is Director of R&D for Cancer at Barts Health NHS Trust and Medical Director of the NIHR Clinical Research Network. He is also a Director of the QMUL spin-out company VacV Therapeutics Ltd and has an interest in the development of oncolytic virotherapy and cancer vaccines.
Ms Joanna Smart (Deputy Chair) Investor Director BGF

Ms Smart has been active in the life sciences sector for over 20 years, as a CEO, non-executive chair and board director with experience in operating roles in SMEs, startups, global biotech, and investment banking.

Mrs Janet Champion Public Committee Member   PPI  Representative PPI  Representative

Mr Michael Duffin

Director of Client Success

Inicio Health LTD

Mr Duffin has a clinical background in physiotherapy, and a commercial background with experience in pathway transformation, real world evaluation, and digital health.

Associate professor Iain Hennessey Clinical Director of Innovation Alder Hay Children’s NHS Foundation Trust Dr Hennessey is involved in paediatric surgery, surgical simulation and clinical innovation. 
Professor Claire Hulme Professor of Health Economics & Head of Department of Health & Community Sciences Institute of Health Research, University of University of Exeter Medical School, Faculty of Health & Life Sciences, University of ExeterExeter Professor Hulme is a health economist whose background lies in range of methodologies including economic evaluation, large data analysis and use of qualitative methods in health economics.

Mrs Ceila Ingham-Clark Medical Director for Clinical Effectiveness NHS England Mrs Clark is a Medical Director for Professional Leadership and Clinical Effectiveness; previous Trust Medical Director and general surgeon.
Dr Zarnie Khadjesari Senior Lecturer in Health Promotion University of East Anglia Dr Khadjesari is an implementation scientist and digital health researcher in the field of health promotion. She is experienced in both quantitative and qualitative research methods. 
Mr Stuart Mealing Associate Director for Health Technology Assessment York Health Economics Consortium Ltd Mr Mealing has a range of experience in decision analytic modelling, statistical analysis of patient level data (from clinical trials to large real world evidence datasets), Preparation of health technology assessment submission dossiers
Professor Steve Morris CEO Ingram Networks Ltd Professor Morris was co-founder of Creo Medical Plc and served as Chief Operating Officer for 10 years. During this time he was Lead Applicant and subsequently Chief Investigator for a number of NIHR-funded i4i and SBRI projects. He played a key role in the development of medical devices from concept to regulatory approval and first Human Use. He was awarded a Visiting Professorship by the Royal Academy of Engineering in 2020.
Ms Stella O'Brien Public Committee Member   PPI Representative  PPI Representative
Mr Sebastian Orton Partner, Corporate Penningtons Manches Cooper LLP Mr Orton is a corporate finance lawyer with specific expertise in equity capital markets and raising finance for companies in the life sciences sector
Professor Amar Rangan Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery Universities of York and Oxford Professor Rangan is a specialist shoulder & elbow surgeon. Experienced in clinical effectiveness and translational research
Dr Chris Sampson

Senior Principal Economist

Office of Health Economics

Dr Sampson is an expert in health economic evaluation, with a particular interest in mental health and digital therapeutics.

Professor Wendy Tindale  Director Sheffield Teaching Hospitals; NIHR Devices for Dignity MIC Professor Tindale is a Consultant Medical Physicist and is experienced in collaborative MedTech development and NHS implementation