This site is optimised for modern browsers. For the best experience, please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

EME Funding Committee Members



MRC-NIHR funding collaboration

The EME Funding Committee assesses stage 1 and stage 2 proposals and makes funding funding recommendations to the Department of Health and Social Care, and the Medical Research Council.


Professor Danny McAuley Professor of Intensive Care, Queen's University of Belfast


Professor John Norrie Professor of Medical Statistics and Trial Methodology, University of Edinburgh


Professor Eric Alton (Deputy Chair) Professor of Gene Therapy and Respiratory Medicine, Imperial College London
Professor Arri Coomarasamy Professor of Gynaecology and Reproductive Medicine, Institute of Metabolism and Systems Research, University of Birmingham.
Ms Anne-Laure Donskoy Public Funding Committee Member
Professor Janet Dunn Professor of Clinical Trials & Head of Cancer Trials, University of Warwick
Professor Daniel Freeman Professor of Clinical Psychology, University of Oxford 
Dr Amy Gillespie NIHR Academy, Post-Doctoral Research Assistant, University of Oxford
Professor Jonathan Grigg Professor of Paediatric Respiratory and Environmental Medicine, Queen Mary University of London
Professor Alastair Hay Professor of Primary Care, University of Bristol
Dr Mildred Iro NIHR Academic Clinical Lecturer, University of Southampton
Mr Allen Knight Public Funding Committee Member
Professor Gregory Lip Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine, University of Liverpool
Professor Iain McInnes Professor of Experimental Medicine / Director of Research Institute, University of Glasgow
Professor Michael Nicholson Professor of Transplant Surgery, University of Cambridge
Dr Richard Peck Head of Clinical Pharmacology, Roche Global; Roche Products Ltd.
Professor John Petrie Professor of Diabetic Medicine, University of Glasgow
Professor Ruth Plummer Professor of Experimental Cancer Medicine, Newcastle University
Professor Rustam Salman Professor of Clinical Neurology & Honorary Consultant Neurologist, University of Edinburgh
Dr Manu Shankar-Hari Reader and Consultant in Intensive Care Medicine 
Professor John Simpson Professor of Respiratory Medicine, Newcastle University 
Professor Deborah Stocken Professor of Clinical Trials Research, University of Leeds
Professor Stuart Taylor Professor of Medical Imaging, University College London
Professor Mark Thursz Professor of Hepatology, Imperial College London and St Mary's Hospital London
Professor Christopher Weir Professor of Medical Statistics and Clinical Trials, University of Edinburgh