Internet Explorer is no longer supported by Microsoft. To browse the NIHR site please use a modern, secure browser like Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

HSDR Funding Committee members


Published: 30 June 2022

Version: 6.0 April 2023

Print this document

The HSDR Funding Committee assesses stage 1 and 2 proposals received through the commissioned and researcher-led workstreams.

At stage one, the committee considers applications primarily for need and importance, and at stage two primarily for scientific quality and value for money. The committee is composed of experts from a range of disciplines relevant to health and social care delivery research, and public contributors.

Chair and Programme Director

  • Professor Kathy RowanDirector of Intensive Care National Audit and Research Centre (ICNARC) and Honorary Professor, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Deputy Chair

  • Professor Judith Smith - Professor of Health Policy and Management and Director of Health Services Management Centre, University of Birmingham


  • Ms Adine Adonis - Clinical Specialist Physiotherapist Neurology, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust
  • Professor Parveen Ali - Professor of Nursing and Gender Based Violence, Division of Nursing and Midwifery, The University of Sheffield
  • Miss Moremi Apata-Omisore - Public Contributor
  • Miss Elisabeth Atlan - Public Contributor
  • Ms Zenab Barry - Public Contributor
  • Dr Godfred Boahen - Principal Social Worker, Adult Services, London Borough of Hackney
  • Professor Kam Bhui - Professor of Psychiatry, University of Oxford and Honorary Consultant Psychiatrist, East London NHS Foundation Trust and Oxford Health NHS Foundation Trust
  • Professor Debra Bick - Professor of Clinical Trials in Maternal Health, University of Warwick
  • Professor Annette Boaz - Honorary Professor of Health Care Research, Kingston University
  • Professor Laura Bojke - Professor of Health Economics, University of York
  • Mr Mark Cadman - Public Contributor
  • Professor Katherine Checkland - Professor of Health Policy and Primary Care, University of Manchester
  • Professor Dawn Dowding - Professor in Clinical Decision Making, Division of Nursing, Midwifery and Social Work, School of Health Sciences, University of Manchester
  • Professor Katie Featherstone - Professor of Sociology and Medicine, University of West London and Director of the Geller Institute of Ageing and Memory
  • Dr Lorna Gibson - Deputy Director, NHSE-I Improvement
  • Dr Clarissa Giebel - Senior Research Fellow in Social Care, University of Liverpool
  • Dr Beatriz Goulao - Research Fellow in Statistics, University of Aberdeen
  • Professor Rebecca Harris - Professor of Dental Public Health, The University of Liverpool
  • Dr Lisa Hinton - Senior Research Associate in Medical Sociology, The Healthcare Improvement Studies (THIS) Institute, Department of Public Health and Primary Care, University of Cambridge
  • Dr Greg Irving - Reader in General Practice, Edge Hill University Medical School and GP and Consultant in Primary Care, St.Helens Hospital 
  • Ms Doreen Joseph - Public Contributor
  • Dr Axel Kaehne - Reader in Health Services Research, Edge Hill University
  • Professor Mona Kanaan - Professor in Applied Health Research and Statistics, University of York
  • Mr Rashmi Kumar - Public Contributor
  • Professor Graham Martin - Director of Research, The Healthcare Improvement Studies (THIS) Institute
  • Professor Gerald McKenna - Clinical Reader / Consultant in Restorative Dentistry, Queen's University Belfast
  • Dr Joanne McPeake - Research Fellow/Honorary Nurse Consultant in Critical Care, The Institute of Healthcare Improvement Studies and NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde
  • Dr Rachel Meacock - Senior Lecturer Health Economics, The University of Manchester
  • Mr Michael Molete - Public Contributor
  • Professor Alicia O’Cathain - Professor of Health Services Research, University of Sheffield
  • Mrs Linda Parton - Public Contributor
  • Professor Andrew Price - Professor of Orthopaedics and Musculo-skeletal Science, University of Oxford & Oxford University Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Mrs Angela Ruddock - Public Contributor
  • Mr Alan Smith - Public Contributor
  • Dr Rachel Spencer - Associate Clinical Professor in General Practice, Warwick Medical School, University of Warwick
  • Professor Duncan Stewart - Professor of Applied Health Research, Centre for Primary Health and Social Care, London Metropolitan University 
  • Mrs Laura-Rose Thorogood - Public Contributor
  • Dr Muhammad Usman - Senior Research Fellow in Medical Statistics, School of Health, Science and Wellbeing, Staffordshire University
  • Professor Fiona Verity - Professor of Social Work and Social Care, Swansea University
  • Professor Nicola Walsh - Professor of Knowledge Mobilisation and Musculoskeletal Health, University of the West of England
  • Dr Alan Watkins - Associate Professor (Statistics) Swansea University
  • Professor Andrea Williamson - General Practitioner and Clinical Senior University Lecturer, General Practice and Primary Care, University of Glasgow
  • Dr Ge Yu - Senior Research Associate in Health Economics, Population Health Sciences Institute, Newcastle University