Internet Explorer is no longer supported by Microsoft. To browse the NIHR site please use a modern, secure browser like Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

HTA Prioritisation Committee: Hospital Based Care - members


Published: 27 May 2022

Version: 7.0 May 2022

Print this document

This committee will advise on the development of topics from across the HTA remit but will have strengths in inside hospital care.


Professor Anthony De Soyza - Professor of Pulmonary Medicine, Newcastle University

Deputy Chair

Dr Cheryl Battersby - NIHR Clinician Scientist, Clinical Senior Lecturer Neonatal Medicine, Imperial College London; Honorary Consultant Neonatologist, Chelsea and Westminster NHS Foundation Trust


  • Professor Abhishek Abhishek - Professor of Rheumatology, University of Nottingham; Honorary Consultant Rheumatologist, Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Dr Dianne Addei - Public Health Advisor, Specialised Commissioning (National), NHS England
  • Professor Augusto Azuara-Blanco - Clinical Professor of Ophthalmology, Queen's University Belfast; Honorary NHS Consultant Ophthalmologist, Belfast Health and Social Care Trust
  • Associate Professor Elizabeth Bailey - Associate Professor and Director of the Elizabeth Bryan Centre for Multiple Births, Birmingham City University
  • Professor Paul Baker - Director for Research and Innovation; Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon, South Tees Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Mr Richard Ballerand - Public Contributor
  • Professor Iain Bruce - Consultant Paediatric Otolaryngologist, Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust
  • Professor Ian Chetter - Chair of Surgery, Hull York Medical School, University of Hull; Chair Research Committee, Vascular Society Great Britain and Ireland
  • Professor Justin Clark - Consultant Gynaecologist, Birmingham Women's and Children's Hospital; Honorary Professor of Gynaecology, University of Birmingham
  • Professor Simon Conroy - Geriatrician and Honorary Professor of Geriatric Medicine, University College London
  • Dr Keith Couper - Assistant Professor in Emergency and Critical Care, University of Warwick
  • Miss Alisen Dube - Senior Nurse in Tissue Viability, Coventry and Warwickshire Partnership NHS Trust; Research Associate in Patient Safety, Staffordshire University
  • Professor Fang Gao Smith - Professor of Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Pain, University of Birmingham; Consultant in Critical Care Medicine, University Hospitals Birmingham
  • Dr Shruti Garg - Clinical Senior Lecturer in Translational Child Psychiatry, University of Manchester; Honorary Consultant in Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, Royal Manchester Children’s Hospital
  • Dr Roger Gibb - Public Contributor
  • Professor Alasdair Gray - Consultant in Emergency Medicine; Honorary Professor of Emergency Medicine and Clinical Director of the Emergency Department, NHS Lothian
  • Professor Steve Halligan - Professor of Gastrointestinal Radiology and Head of UCL Centre for Medical Imaging, University College London
  • Mr Thomas Hamilton - NIHR Academic Clinical Fellow, Trauma and Orthopaedics, University of Oxford
  • Professor Priscilla Harries - Professor of Occupational Therapy, NIHR South London ARC; Head of Graduate Research School and Researcher Development, Kingston University London
  • Professor William Hope - Dame Sally Davies Chair of AMR Research, Director of Centre of Excellence in Infectious Diseases Research, University of Liverpool
  • Mr Robert Jones - Consultant Hepatobiliary and General Surgeon, Liverpool University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Dr Gillian Lowe - Consultant Haematologist, University Hospital Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust
  • Professor Mamas Mamas - Professor of Cardiology, Keele University
  • Mrs Zoe Morrison - Paediatric Research Nurse Specialist, Cardiff and Vale University Health Board
  • Professor Nick Oliver - Wynn Professor of Metabolism, Imperial College London
  • Dr Nazima Pathan - Paediatric Intensive Care Unit Consultant, University of Cambridge / Addenbrooke’s Hospital
  • Miss Jessica Pawson - Lead Research Physiotherapist - Musculoskeletal & Orthopaedics, Barts Health NHS Trust
  • Professor Dimitrios Siassakos - Professor in Obstetrics and Gynaecology, University College London; Honorary Consultant in Obstetrics, University College London Hospital
  • Mrs Polly Smith - Public Contributor
  • Dr Peter Swoboda - Cardiology Consultant, Mid Yorks NHS Trust; Honorary Senior Lecturer, Leeds Institute of Cardiovascular and Metabolic Medicine, University of Leeds
  • Professor Alice Turner - Professor of Respiratory Medicine, University of Birmingham; Honorary Consultant Respiratory Physician, University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust
  • Dr Helena Watson - Obstetrics & Gynaecology Specialist Registrar, Lewisham and Greenwich NHS Trust
  • Dr Hilary Williams - Consultant in Medical Oncology, Velindre Cancer Centre