This site is optimised for modern browsers. For the best experience, please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

Beta Site: This is a new site which is still under development. We welcome your feedback, which will help improve it.

Feedback form

HTA Funding Committee Clinical Evaluation and Trials



Professor Lucy Chappell NIHR Research Professor in Obstetrics, King's College London
Deputy ChairOrganisation
Professor Julia Brown Director, Leeds Institute of Clinical Trials Research
Dr Kate Brown Consultant Paediatric Intensive Care, Great Ormond Street Hospital and Hon Reader Institute Cardiovascular Science UCL
Professor Tim Coleman Professor of Primary Care, University of Nottingham
Dr Charlotte Coles Reader in Breast Radiation Oncology, Honorary Consultant in Clinical Oncology, Cambridge Breast Cancer Research Unit
Professor David Ekers Honorary Visiting Professor and Nurse Consultant, Tees Esk & Wear Valleys NHS Trust/University of York (Mental Health and Addictions Research Group)
Professor Richard Emsley Professor of Medical Statistics and Trials Methodology, Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology & Neuroscience, King’s College London
Ms Joanne Haviland Senior Medical Statistician, Clinical Trials and Statistics Unit, The Institute of Cancer Research
Dr Daniel Hind Assistant Director, Sheffield Clinical Trials Research Unit / Reader in Complex Interventions, School of Health and Related Research (ScHARR), University of Sheffield
Professor William Hollingworth Professor of Health Economics, School of Social and Community Medicine, University of Bristol
Dr Susan Jowett Reader in Health Economics, Institute for Applied Health Research, University of Birmingham
Professor Kapil Sayal Professor of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry, Developmental Psychiatry, Division of Psychiatry & Applied Psychology, University of Nottingham
Mrs Deborah Keatley Public board member
Associate Professor Rebecca Kearney Associate Professor (Clinical), Trauma and Orthopaedic Rehabilitation, University of Warwick
Associate Professor Sally Hopewell Senior Trialist, Oxford Clinical Trials Research Unit, University of Oxford
Associate Professor Daniel Lasserson Professor of Ambulatory Care, Institute of Applied Health Research, University of Birmingham
Dr Jennifer Logue Clinical Reader and Honorary Consultant in Metabolic Medicine, Lancaster Medical School, Faculty of Health and Medicine, Lancaster University
Professor Alan Montgomery Professor of Medical Statistics and Clinical Trials, University of Nottingham
Professor Thomas Pinkney George Drexler & Royal College of Surgeons Chair of Surgical Trials, University of Birmingham Honorary Consultant Colorectal Surgeon, University Hospitals Birmingham NHS FT
Dr Elena Pizzo Senior Research Associate, Department of Applied Health Research, University College London
Professor Daniel Prieto-Alhambra Professor of Pharmaco- and Device Epidemiology, NDORMS, University of Oxford
Dr Kathryn Radford Associate Professor in Rehabilitation Research (Long Term Conditions), Queen's Medical Centre, University of Nottingham
Professor Sharon Simpson Professor of Behavioural Sciences and Health, MRC/CSO Social and Public Health Sciences Unit, University of Glasgow
Professor Stephanie Taylor Professor in Public Health and Primary Care, Barts and the Queen Mary’s School of Medicine and Dentistry
Ms Gail Thornton Public board member
Professor Edwin Van Teijlingen Professor of Reproductive Health Research, Bournemouth University
Professor Scott Weich Professor of Psychiatry, University of Warwick
Professor David Weller James Mackenzie Professor of General Practice / Programme Co-Director (Master of Family Medicine), Usher Institute, College of Medicine and Veterinary Medicine, The University of Edinburgh