Internet Explorer is no longer supported by Microsoft. To browse the NIHR site please use a modern, secure browser like Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

Invention for Innovation - Challenge Awards Call 14 Stage 2 Minutes


Published: 09 January 2023

Version: 1.0 - January 2023

Print this document

Minutes of the Invention for Innovation (i4i) Programme Committee meeting to discuss Stage 2 applications to Call 14 of the i4i Challenge Awards.

Date and Location

Meeting held on Tuesday 22 November 2022 at LGC Ltd, Grange House, 15 Church Street, Twickenham TW1 3NL.

In attendance

Ms Jo Smart ( Chair)
Professor Wendy Tindale OBE (Deputy Chair)
Mrs Janet Champion
Dr David Kryl
Mr Stuart Mealing
Professor Steve Morris
Ms Stella O'Brien
Professor Paul Sibbons

NIHR i4i Secretariat

Professor Mike Lewis (Programme Director)
Dr Ruth Nebauer (Assistant Director)
Dr Andrew Barber
Dr Ian Newington
Dr Laura Tornatore
Dr Ian Newington
Mr Edwin Tucker
Mr Luis Tojo

Operations Team

Ms Lisa Kelly
Mr Bryan Dar
Ms Harkerat Jandu
Ms Elena Sundle
Mr Sam Howes
Ms Cordelia Davey


Professor Nick Lemoine (Chair)
Mr Chris Chaney
Professor Claire Hulme
Mrs Celia Ingham-Clark
Mr Sebastian Orton
Professor Najib Rahman

Applications assessed at Stage 2

NIHR204623: Achieving WHO physical activity guidelines after hip replacement surgery
Conflict Committee Member: None
Funding Committee recommendation: Support

NIHR204642: Implementation of 3D printing in the NHS for personalised oral dosing: a case study on tacrolimus in paediatric renal transplant recipients
Conflict Committee Member: None
Funding Committee recommendation: Reject

NIHR204635: Co-designing, adapting and evaluating a real-world implementation model for ophthalmic remote consultation with home vision testing.
Conflict Committee Member: Mr Stuart Mealing
Funding Committee recommendation: Support

NIHR204647: Lumella. Using glycosylated fibronectin in a Point of Care test for pre-eclampsia.
Conflict Committee Member: Professor Nick Lemoine, Mr Stuart Mealing
Funding Committee recommendation: Conditional support
with change

NIHR204643: Oxygenated Hypothermic Machine Perfusion in Pancreas Preservation for Transplantation
Conflict Committee Member: Ms Stella O'Brien, Professor Najib Rahman
Funding Committee recommendation: Support