Internet Explorer is no longer supported by Microsoft. To browse the NIHR site please use a modern, secure browser like Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

Invention for Innovation - Challenge Awards Committee


08 July 2019


2.0 - January 2022


The funding committees for the NIHR Invention for Innovation (i4i) Programme are multidisciplinary, comprising academic, clinical and commercial experts, as well as patient and public members. i4i has four committees: two for Product Development Awards (committee A and committee B), one for Challenge Awards, and one for Connect.

Committee members - Challenge Awards

Professor Nick Lemoine (Chair) Director Barts Cancer Institute Professor Lemoine is Director of R&D for Cancer at Barts Health NHS Trust and Medical Director of the NIHR Clinical Research Network. He is also a Director of the QMUL spin-out company VacV Therapeutics Ltd and has an interest in the development of oncolytic virotherapy and cancer vaccines.
Ms Joanna Smart (Deputy Chair) Non Executive Chair Oxford Cancer Biomarkers Ms Smart is a life sciences business executive with over 15 years' experience. Ms Smart has experience in advising life sciences companies on licensing, corporate strategy, fundraising and M&A opportunities
Mrs Janet Champion Public Committee Member   PPI  Representative PPI  Representative
Mr Chris Chaney Chief Executive  Chelsea and Westminster Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust  Mr Chaney leads the innovation programme at Chelsea and Westminster Hospital Foundation Trust, is a member of the Trust Board and CEO of Trust charity, CW+
Associate professor Iain Hennessey Clinical Director of Innovation Alder Hay Children’s NHS Foundation Trust Dr Hennessey is involved in paediatric surgery, surgical simulation and clinical innovation. 
Professor Claire Hulme Professor of Health Economics Institute of Health Research, University of Exeter Professor Hulme is a health economist whose background lies in range of methodologies including economic evaluation, large data analysis and use of qualitative methods in health economics. 
Mrs Ceila Ingham-Clark Medical Director for Clinical Effectiveness NHS England Mrs Clark is a Medical Director for Professional Leadership and Clinical Effectiveness; previous Trust Medical Director and general surgeon.
Dr David Kryl Director of Insight for Wessex AHSN  Wessex Academic Health Science Network (AHSN) Dr Kryl is responsible for the evaluation strategy of Wessex Academic Health Science Network, with expertise in implementation, research, evaluation, and impact assessment frameworks 
Mr Stuart Mealing Associate Director for Health Technology Assessment York Health Economics Consortium Ltd Mr Mealing has a range of experience in decision analytic modelling, statistical analysis of patient level data (from clinical trials to large real world evidence datasets), Preparation of health technology assessment submission dossiers
Professor Steve Morris CEO Ingram Networks Ltd Professor Morris was co-founder of Creo Medical Plc and served as Chief Operating Officer for 10 years. During this time he was Lead Applicant and subsequently Chief Investigator for a number of NIHR-funded i4i and SBRI projects. He played a key role in the development of medical devices from concept to regulatory approval and first Human Use. He was awarded a Visiting Professorship by the Royal Academy of Engineering in 2020.
Ms Stella O'Brien Public Committee Member   PPI Representative  PPI Representative
Mr Sebastian Orton Partner, Corporate Penningtons Manches LLP Mr Orton is a corporate finance lawyer with specific expertise in equity capital markets and raising finance for companies in the life sciences sector
Professor Najib Rahman Professor of Respiratory Medicine, Director Oxford Respiratory Trials Unit University of Oxford Najib has a broad range of expertise in clinical trials methodology, design, outcome and analysis. As well as expertise in, respiratory medicine including pleural disease, sleep apnoea, respiratory interventions, imaging, airways disease and lung cancer
Professor Amar Rangan Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery Universities of York and Oxford Professor Rangan is a specialist shoulder & elbow surgeon. Experienced in clinical effectiveness and translational research
Mr Simon Thorn Managing Director Acceleris Capital Limited Mr Thorn is experienced in evaluating the financial, corporate and commercial aspects of early stage healthcare propositions from a business viability and investability angle
Professor Wendy Tindale Director NIHR Devices for Dignity MIC Professor Tindale is a Consultant Medical Physicist and is experienced in collaborative MedTech development and NHS implementation