Internet Explorer is no longer supported by Microsoft. To browse the NIHR site please use a modern, secure browser like Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

Invention for Innovation - Product Development Awards Committee A


Published: 05 July 2019

Version: 4.0 - June 2022

Print this document

The funding committees for the NIHR Invention for Innovation (i4i) Programme are multidisciplinary, comprising academic, clinical and commercial experts, as well as patient and public members. i4i has five committees: three for Product Development Awards (committee A, committee B and committee C), one for Challenge Awards, and one for Connect.

Committee members - Product Development Awards Selection Committee A

Ms Emma Palmer Foster (Chair) Healthcare Consultant EJ Palmer Consulting

Ms Palmer Foster has 30 years experience in life sciences investment banking, venture capital, investor relations, technology transfer and journalism.

Professor Paul Sibbons (Deputy Chair) Independent pre-clinical Consultant Independent Consultant

Professor Sibbons has extensive experience in pre-clinical surgery, pathology, evaluation and interpretation.


Professor Clive Buckberry

Co-founder and Fellow of Engineering

Quanta Dialysis Technologies

Professor Buckberry is a mechanical engineer by background and has experience in technology development, clinical evaluation and implementation.


Mr Ravi Chana Head of Business Development

Roche Diagnostics UK Limited

Mr Chana has a broad range of expertise in business development, market access, health economics, medtech commercialisation and value based healthcare.

Ms Mary Anne Cordeiro Consultant to life science businesses Science to Business Ltd

Ms Cordeiro has expertise in corporate finance and merchant banking to life science companies as well as investment fund experience in the healthcare sector.

Dr Surbhi Gupta


Senior Regulatory Affairs Lead (Medical Devices

NHS England

Dr Gupta is an experienced medtech executive specialised in progressing innovative healthcare assets towards regulatory approval and commercialisation.


Professor Gail Hayward Associate Professor
University of Oxford

Professor Hayward is a practising GP and experienced in diagnostics and infectious diseases research in primary care.

Professor David Jayne Professor (Clinical) University of Leeds

Professor Jayne's expertise covers general surgery with coloproctology sub-specialisation, robotic and minimally invasive surgery, gastrointestinal oncology and global surgery.

Dr Jonathan Jeffers

Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Imperial College London


Dr Jeffers is a mechanical engineer with musculoskeletal expertise. He has experience in taking research through the translational pathway from spinout formation to equity investment and acquisition.

Mr Derek Jerome  PPI representative     PPI representative     PPI representative   
Dr Thomas Keeble

Cardiologist & Associate Professor

The Essex Cardiothoracic Centre and Anglia Ruskin University

Dr Keeble is an experienced cardiologist and Associate Professor who primarily focuses on interventional cardiology clinical trials and out of hospital cardiac arrest.

Dr Zahid Latif

VP Global Innovation

Shionogi Europe

Dr Latif is a qualified pharmacist with experience in the private, public and non-profit sectors, specialising in life sciences and technology.

Professor James Moore

The Bagrit Chair in Medical Device Design

Imperial College London

Professor Moore has experience in research commercialisation and his interests include cardiovascular biomechanics, implantable devices, and the lymphatic system.


Dr Nick de Pennington


Ufonia Limited

Dr de Pennington is a former neurosurgeon with experience in digital innovation, health AI and clinical entrepreneurship.

Dr Kam Pooni


Glyconics Ltd


Dr Pooni has over 25 years of life sciences and MedTech commercialisation expertise, including regulatory, market entry and adoption routes.

Dr Krishan Ramdoo CEO Tympa Health and NHS Clinical Entrepreneur Fellow. Northwick Park Institute for Medical Research

Dr Krishan is an ear, nose and throat surgeon with experience in developing a product starting from a lab bench to commercial product.

Dr Matthew Reeves

Associate Professor/Reader in Molecular Virology

University College London

Dr Reeves has a specialty in infectious diseases focusing primarily on human cytomegalovirus latency and reactivation, and viral pathogenesis in human transplantation.

Dr Julie Simmonds Managing Director, Equity Research Panmure Gordon

Dr Simmonds has expertise in investment and financial analysis across the healthcare sector, including medical devices, digital health and biotechnology.

Dr Andrew Sims

Head of Department, Northern Medical Physics and Clinical Engineering

The Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust; Freeman Hospital, Newcastle upon Tyne

Dr Sims is a medical physicist specialising in technology assessment of medical devices and diagnostics. He has expertise in medical image analysis and research commercialisation.

Mr Keith Tucker (Orthopaedic Research UK representative included in the AI in MSK highlight)

Trustee, Orthopaedic adviser


Orthopaedic Research UK

Mr Tucker is an orthopaedic surgeon with expertise in general orthopaedics and conducting research involving Machine Learning.


Professor Peter Watkinson

Professor of Intensive Care Medicine

University of Oxford, Nuffield Department of Clinical Neurosciences, Oxford University Hospitals NHS Trust

Professor Watkinson brings experience of large scale data analysis including the use of artificial intelligence in healthcare, randomised controlled trials and clinical trials of wearable monitoring devices.

Ms Alexina Weekes

PPI representative  

PPI representative   

PPI representative