Internet Explorer is no longer supported by Microsoft. To browse the NIHR site please use a modern, secure browser like Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

Invention for Innovation - Product Development Awards Committee B


Published: 08 July 2019

Version: 4.0 - November 2023

Print this document

The funding committees for the NIHR Invention for Innovation (i4i) Programme are multidisciplinary, comprising academic, clinical and commercial experts, as well as patient and public members. i4i has five committees: three for Product Development Awards (committee A, committee B and committee C), one for Challenge Awards, and one for Connect.

Committee members - Product Development Awards Selection Committee B

Dr Charles Spicer (Chair) Chair CREO Medical Group PLC 

Dr Spicer is an experienced chair, director and adviser to public and private companies focused on the life science and medical technology sectors.

Professor Liam Grover (Deputy Chair) 

Professor of Biomaterials Science and Director of the Healthcare Technologies Institute

University of Birmingham

Professor Grover is a biomaterials scientist whose research focuses on designing materials that enhance the tissue regeneration process.


Professor Philip Breedon Professor of Smart Technologies Nottingham Trent University

Professor Breedon is a medical design engineer with interests in wearable and rehabilitation technologies, Extended Reality, AI, surgical and mobile robotics and the surgical pathway.

Mr Mark Campbell

Independent healthtech consultant


Mr Campbell advises companies, life science organisations and public sector agencies on value proposition development, evidence generation and health technology assessment for devices, diagnostics and digital health technologies.

Ms Jenny Chong

Associate Non-Executive Director


Medway NHS Foundation Trust

Ms Chong has over 20 years of experience in investment banking with expertise in big data and AI and medtech start-ups.


Mrs Katrina Goodhand Public Committee Member PPI  Representative PPI  Representative
Professor Paul Leeson Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine, University of Oxford University of Oxford

Professor Leeson is a consultant cardiologist with expertise in using AI and imaging to develop novel approaches to cardiovascular disease management.

Dr Stephen Lynn Associate Commercial Director Health Innovation North Easy and North Cumbria

Dr Lynn has experience in supporting the development of diagnostics and medical devices and has expertise in adoption and real world evaluation.

Professor Luca Marciani

Professor of Gastrointestinal Imaging

University of Nottingham

Professor Marciani is a physicist with expertise in biomedical and translational imaging research and particular interests in magnetic resonance imaging and medical devices.

Ms Bishara Mohamud Public Committee Member PPI Representative PPI Representative
Professor Mike Reed (Orthopaedic Research UK representative included in the AI in MSK highlight)
Orthopaedic Surgeon

Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust and University of York

Professor Reed is an orthopaedic Surgeon with experience in data and clinical research. He is the clinical lead for machine learning based projects.

Ms Joanna Smart

Investor Director



Ms Smart has been active in the life sciences sector for over 20 years, as a CEO, non-executive chair and board director with experience in operating roles in SMEs, startups, global biotech, and investment banking.

Professor Sarah Stapley

Emeritus Defence Professor of Trauma and Orthopaedics. Consultant in Trauma and Orthopaedics

Royal Navy, Portsmouth Hospital University Trust


Professor Stapley is a consultant in trauma and orthopaedic injury with a special interest in hand surgery.

Ms Helen Lewis-White

Deputy Director of Research

North Bristol NHS Trust

Ms Lewis-White’s background is in nursing and neuroscience. She has expertise in clinical trials and experience in implementation of medical technologies.


Dr Neville Young Director of Enterprise & Innovation

Health Innovation Yorkshire and Humber

Dr Young has experience with innovative surgical tools, intraoperative imaging systems, novel biosensing diagnostics, nanotechnology and remote monitoring.