Internet Explorer is no longer supported by Microsoft. To browse the NIHR site please use a modern, secure browser like Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

Invention for Innovation - Product Development Awards Committee C


Published: 31 October 2023

Version: 2.0 April 2024

Print this document

The funding committees for the NIHR Invention for Innovation (i4i) Programme are multidisciplinary, comprising academic, clinical and commercial experts, as well as patient and public members. i4i has five committees: three for Product Development Awards (committee A, committee B and committee C), one for Challenge Awards, and one for Connect.

Committee members - Product Development Awards Selection Committee C


Ms Joanna Smart (Chair)

Investor Director


Ms Smart has been active in the life sciences sector for over 20 years, as a CEO, non-executive chair and board director with experience in operating roles in SMEs, startups, global biotech, and investment banking.

Dr Matthew Reeves (Deputy Chair)

Associate Professor/Reader in Molecular Virology

University College London

Dr Reeves has a specialty in infectious diseases focusing primarily on human cytomegalovirus latency and reactivation, and viral pathogenesis in human transplantation.

Mrs Sarah Biggs

Public Committee Member

PPI Representative

PPI Representative

Ms Jacqueline Birks

NIHR Senior Medical Statistician

 University of Oxford

Ms Birks is a medical statistician who has worked on large clinical trials in different clinical areas including neurology, mental health, surgery and dementia.

Professor Philip Breedon

Professor of Smart Technologies

Nottingham Trent University

Professor Breedon is a medical design engineer with interests in wearable and rehabilitation technologies, Extended Reality, AI, surgical and mobile robotics and the surgical pathway.

Mr Sam Gray

Managing Partner

Apposite Capital

Mr Gray has more than 20 years of experience in healthcare investment with extensive expertise in digital health and medical products.

Dr Surbhi Gupta

Senior Regulatory Affairs Lead (Medical Devices)

NHS England

Dr Gupta is an experienced medtech executive specialised in progressing innovative healthcare assets towards regulatory approval and commercialisation.

Dr Stephen Hicks



Dr Hicks has an interest in neuroscience, AI and building diagnostic devices. In 2016, he founded the start-up Oxsight.

Professor David Lowe

Chief Scientist Office

Clinical Director for health innovation

Professor Lowe is an emergency consultant with radiology, imaging, AI and healthcare innovation expertise.

Mr Stuart Mealing

Associate Director (Health Economics and Outcomes Research)

York Health Economics Consortium Ltd

Mr Mealing has experience in the development and review of cost-effectiveness and budget impact models and working with medical devices and the modelling of orphan/ultra-orphan conditions.

Professor Steve Morris


Ingram Networks Ltd

Professor Morris has experience in the development of medical devices from concept to regulatory approval and first human use.

Dr Kam Pooni


Glyconics Ltd

Dr Pooni has over 25 years of life sciences and MedTech commercialisation expertise, including regulatory, market entry and adoption routes.

Dr Krishan Ramdoo

CEO Tympa Health and NHS Clinical Entrepreneur Fellow.

Northwick Park Institute for Medical Research

Dr Ramdoo is an ear, nose and throat surgeon with experience in developing a product starting from a lab bench to commercial product.

Ms Josephine Tapper

Public Committee Member

PPI  Representative

PPI  Representative

Professor Wendy Tindale OBE


Sheffield Teaching Hospitals; NIHR Devices for Dignity MIC

Professor Tindale is a Consultant Medical Physicist and is experienced in collaborative MedTech development and NHS implementation.