This site is optimised for modern browsers. For the best experience, please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.


We welcome your feedback, which will help improve this site.

Feedback form

Invention for Innovation Programme - Product Development Awards Selection Committee A



The funding committees for the NIHR Invention for Innovation (i4i) Programme are multidisciplinary, comprising academic, clinical and commercial experts, as well as patient and public members. i4i has four committees: two for Product Development Awards (committee A and committee B), one for Challenge Awards, and one for Connect.

Committee members - Product Development Awards Selection Committee A

Name Position Organisation Expertise
Mr Mark Kirby (Chair) Chief Executive SmartTarget Limited Mark is an experienced MedTech chairman with experience of start-up to exit challenges. His specialties include strategy, fundraising, building teams and growing businesses
Professor Paul Sibbons (Deputy Chair) Independent pre-clinical Consultant Independent Consultant Paul has extensive experience in pre-clinical surgery, pathology, evaluation and interpretation
Ms Mary Anne Cordeiro Consultant to life science businesses Science to Business Ltd Mary Anne is an experienced advisor and merchant banker to innovative companies in the healthcare sector, specifically in medical technology businesses. She has been working on the commercialisation and funding of innovative products and services since 1998 after a 15-year career as an investment banker
Ms Alice Evans Co-Head, Governance and Sustainable Investment BMO Global Asset Management (EMEA) Alice has extensive fund management experience running global equity funds with a focus on environmental, social and governance (ESG) issues, and specialises in the healthcare sector
Dr Eldrid Herrington Public Member, Honorary Senior Research Fellow Queen Mary University of London  Eldrid is experienced in colorectal oncology and patient and public involvement
Mr Andy Ingram Director Xcelerate Health Outcomes Andy is experienced in developing and implementing health economics, outcomes research and market access solutions for the pharmaceutical and medical device industry
Professor David Jayne Professor (Clinical) University of Leeds General surgery with coloproctology sub specialisation; Robotic & minimally invasive surgery; Gastrointestinal oncology; Global Surgery
Dr Thomas Keeble Cardiologist and Honorary Senior Clinical Lecturer The Essex Cardiothoracic Centre and Anglia Ruskin University Thomas is an experienced cardiologist and senior clinical lecturer who primarily focuses on interventional cardiology and general cardiovascular research
Dr Zahid Latif Innovation and Supply Chain Specialist (LSO) Life Sciences Organisation Zahid is a qualified pharmacist with specialities in pharmaceutical drug discovery, natural product chemistry, pharmacy, regenerative medicine, cell based therapies and digital health
Dr Mike Messenger Head of Personalised Medicine and Health University of Leeds In Vitro Diagnostics (IVDs), Health Technology Assessment, Biomarkers, Precision Medicine, Personalised Medicine, Biomedical Metrology
Dr Matthew Reeves Senior Lecturer University College London Matthew has a specialty in infectious diseases focusing primarily on human cytomegalovirus latency and reactivation, and viral pathogenesis in human transplantation
Dr Julie Simmonds Executive Director, Equity Research Panmure Gordon Julie is experienced with investment and financial analysis in the healthcare sector, including medical devices and biotechnology in small/medium UK companies and large European stocks
Dr Andrew Sims Head of Department, Northern Medical Physics and Clinical Engineering The Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust Andrew is a medical physicist specialising in health technology assessment, translational R&D and outcomes research with real-world healthcare data, mainly in med-tech and diagnostics
Ms Gail Thornton Freelance Research and Evaluation Consultant Public Member Gail has extensive experience as a patient of using NHS services in primary and secondary care. In addition, Gail has been involved as a service-user or patient representative in a number of research studies and service evaluation/accreditation projects
Dr Gill Vivian Head of department, Nuclear medicine King's College Hospital Gill has experience in diagnostic imaging, specialising in nuclear medicine. She has clinical and research experience in oncological imaging with focus on endocrine oncology
Dr Peter Watkinson Associate Professor of Intensive Care Medicine John Radcliffe Hospital Peter is a Consultant in intensive care and acute medicine. He has designed and run a number of studies in the field of wearable devices for monitoring patient deterioration in the hospital setting
Dr Glenn Wells Chief Operating Officer Oxford Academic Health Centre Glenn is an experienced professional in the life science and healthcare sector, particularly in funding and management of translational research & development of national policy
Mr Tim Wright Chief Executive Officer Aqdot Tim is an experienced CEO with a background in the healthcare sector and pharmaceuticals. He has successfully developed, licensed and grown brands and businesses at all stages of their lifecycle