This site is optimised for modern browsers. For the best experience, please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.


We welcome your feedback, which will help improve this site.

Feedback form

Invention for Innovation Programme - Product Development Awards Selection Committee B



The funding committees for the NIHR Invention for Innovation (i4i) Programme are multidisciplinary, comprising academic, clinical and commercial experts, as well as patient and public members. i4i has four committees: two for Product Development Awards (committee A and committee B), one for Challenge Awards, and one for Connect.

Committee members - Product Development Awards Selection Committee B

Name Position Organisation Expertise
Mr Charles Spicer (Chair) Chairman  CREO Medical Group PLC  Charles is an experienced company director, corporate finance adviser and investor who focuses on the life science and medical technology sectors
Professor David Williams (Deputy Chair) Professor of Healthcare Engineering  Loughborough University  David's current research interests are in the areas of rehabilitation, regenerative medicines and their commercialisation, and the manufacture of cell and tissue based therapies. He was awarded an OBE in 2014 for his services to science and engineering and more recently the 2016 IChemE Donald Medal in recognition of his contribution to the regenerative medicine sector
Mr Vadim K Alexandre Head of Research Northland Capital Partners Ltd Vadim is a Managing Director at Northland Capital Partners, an investment bank with expertise in the healthcare and pharmaceutical sectors
Professor Philip Breedon Professor of Smart Technologies Nottingham Trent University Phil has experience with smart technologies for clinical and medical applications. His research interests cover emerging materials, including biomimetics, biomaterials, biorobotics, wearable technologies, intelligent environments
Professor Enitan Carrol Chair in Paediatric Infection, and Honorary Consultant in Paediatric Infectious Diseases and Immunology University of Liverpool Enitan is a research active paediatrician. Her interests include exploring the use of infection related biomarkers as diagnostics, to monitor an individual's response to serious bacterial infection and to direct antibiotic therapies
Dr Laura Fenner Research Facilitator, Public Member  University College London Laura is a PPI member with interest in medtech because her father has benefited from a fantastic technology in implantable cardioverter defibrillators. She is a Research Facilitator and has a PhD in Chemistrybout improving patient experience and outcome by bringing the perspective of patients and public to health care research funding discussions
Professor Liam Grover Research Facilitator University College London  Liam is a biomaterials scientist with a particular expertise in the development of hard tissue replacements and linking implant resorption with bone formation and chemical engineering
Professor David Hawkes Director of the Centre for Medical Image Computing University College London With clinical and academic research expertise, Dave's current research is in the areas of medical image computing and image-guided interventions. Dave co-founded IXICO Ltd, an Imperial/UCL spin-out providing imaging solutions to the pharmaceutical industry. He also advises a number of SMEs in the biomedical engineering sector
Ms Emily Lam Public Member N/A Emily is passionate about improving patient experience and outcome by bringing the perspective of the patients and public to health care research funding discussions
Professor Paul Leeson Head of Oxford Cardiovascular Clinical Research Facility  University of Oxford Paul is Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine at the University of Oxford, Research Fellow at Wolfson College and Head of the Oxford Cardiovascular Clinical Research Facility. He is also a Consultant Cardiologist at the John Radcliffe Hospital, where he provides expertise in Cardiovascular Imaging, as well as General Cardiology and Cardiovascular Prevention through the Oxford Specialist Hypertension Clinic
Dr Kath Mackay Interim Director of Ageing Society, Health & Nutrition  Innovate UK  Kath Leads a team working to grow and scale the best UK businesses developing biomedical, health, agriculture and food innovations
Ms Emma Palmer Foster Healthcare Consultant  EJ Palmer Consulting Emma has over 20 years experience in the European Healthcare sector gained through roles investment banking, investor relations, technology transfer and journalism. Emma now advises pharmaceutical and biotech clients on their corporate and financial strategies, investor relations and financial communications
Dr Ashish Patel Principle Optum Ventures Ash Patel is a venture capitalist specialising in healthcare technology companies. He has grown some of the most disruptive health tech companies in Europe. He holds an MA and a Medical Degree from the University of Oxford
Dr Cathy Prescott Founder Director Quartet Innovation Partners Limited Cathy is experienced in research, management, and business in the life science and venture capital sectors. She has become a key opinion leader in the stem cell and regenerative medicine sectors
Ms Jo Smart Chief Operating Officer VivoPlex Medical Ltd A life sciences business executive with over 15 years' experience, Jo is COO of Vivoplex Medical Ltd, a UK medtech SME
Professor Sarah Stapley Defence Professor of Trauma and Orthopaedics Royal Navy A consultant in trauma and orthopaedic injury with a special interest in hand surgery
Dr Neville Young Director of Enterprise & Innovation Yorkshire and Humber Academic Health Science Network (Y&H AHSN) Neville holds a PhD in molecular embryology and is experienced with innovative surgical tools, intraoperative imaging systems, novel biosensing diagnostics, nanotechnology and remote monitoring