Internet Explorer is no longer supported by Microsoft. To browse the NIHR site please use a modern, secure browser like Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

NIHR Doctoral Fellowship Round 2 Public Minutes


Published: 10 February 2021

Version: 1.0 (Feb 21)

Print this document


26 – 27 November 2019


Hilton City Centre, Leeds

In attendance

Doctoral Fellowship Selection Committee One members

Professor Gretl McHugh (Chair), University of Leeds
Professor Gordon Taylor (Deputy Chair), University of Exeter
Professor Alison Richardson, University of Southampton
Professor Andrew Hayward, University College London
Professor Ann Marie Swart, University of East Anglia
Professor Anne Forster, University of Leeds
Professor Catherine Exley, Newcastle University
Professor Gerald McCann, University of Leicester
Professor Glyn Lewis, University College London
Jayne Woodside, Queen's University, Belfast
Professor Jenny Myers, University of Manchester
Professor Katherine Checkland, University of Manchester
Professor Nigel Hoggard, University of Sheffield
Dr Phil Shackley, University of Sheffield
Professor Philip Evans, University of Surrey
Professor Ruth Harris, Kings College London
Professor Steven Jones, Lancaster University
Ben Wills-Eve (Patient Public Involvement)
Anne-Laure Donskoy (Patient Public Involvement)


Professor Dave Jones, Dean NIHR Academy


Nicola Melody, Assistant Director
Charlotte Minter, Programme Manager
Agnieszka Skowronek, Programme Manager (Day 1)
Rebecca Dove, Senior Programme Manager (Day 2)


Professor Andrew Hayward, University College London (Day 1 and Day 2)
Phil Shackley (Day 2)

Doctoral Fellowship Selection Committee Two members

Professor Trudie Roberts (Chair), University of Leeds
Professor Andrea Manca (Deputy Chair), University of York
Professor Ashley Adamson, University of Newcastle
Professor Charles Hutchinson, University of Warwick
Professor Ingunn Holen, University of Sheffield
Professor, Mike Crawford, Imperial College London
Dr Louise Connell, University of Central Lancashire
Dr Oliver Rivero-Arias, University of Oxford
Professor Paul Brocklehurst, Bangor University
Professor Richard Riley, Keele University
Dr Sonia Saxena, Imperial College London
Dr Victoria Cornelius, Imperial College London
Professor Waljit Dhillo, Imperial College London
Professor Yvonne Birks, University of York
Gordon Smith (Patient Public Involvement)
Jacqui Gath (Patient Public Involvement)


James Fenton, Assistant Director
David Lunn, Senior Programme Manager
Rosie Padley, Programme Manager


Professor Ingunn Holen, University of Sheffield (Day 2)


90 applications were received before the closing date of 18th June 2019 and 86 of these proved eligible for assessment by the NIHR selection committee.
Shortlisting took place on the 18th September 2019. The selection committee shortlisted 37 DFs for interview. 1 applicant withdrew from the DF competition prior to interview so 36 applicants were interviewed between 26th and 27th of November 2019. 

Application summary

 Action/ActivityDate Applications 
 Stage 1 Application window  1 - 18 April 2019 90
Selection Committee Assessments & Shortlisting Meeting 8 July 2019 & 18 September 2019 86
 Stage 2 Application window  30 September - 30 October 2019 37
 Interviews 26 – 27 November 2019 36 (1 deferral)
 Recommended for funding 26 – 27 November 2019 18